Burn, Rewrite or Reread?

Yesterday I saw this video of jessethereader called ‘Burn, rewrite or reread?’ and I thought it’d be a fun thing to do on my blog! Basically, you choose three books at random and one you have to ‘burn’, another you have to rewrite and the last one you reread. Obviously I’m not going to burn or rewrite any books. I might actually reread the books I choose for reread, but I already have  so many books to read that I haven’t read once yet!

There are some of my favourite books in the bowl, but no books I really disliked, since that would be an obvious burn. I just chose some random books from my read list on Goodreads. So, let’s get started!

Round 1

Book number one: The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani
Book number two: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Book number three: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Well great. I knew this was going to be hard but… These three are all favourites of mine and now I have to burn one. Okay, I love Sea of Monsters, but I guess it’s not my favourite among the Percy Jackson series (not that I dislike any of the books) and I definitely don’t want to burn it, but I have to choose one so… Oh Zeus, please don’t electrify me.

So now I have to choose which one I’m going to reread or rewrite. Haha. No.

Alright, I guess I’ll reread Fangirl and rewrite The School for Good and Evil even though it’s perfect and doesn’t need to be rewritten but neither does Fangirl. I really don’t know why I made this choice.

Round 2 (my bookworm heart is already hurting after one round, oh boy)

Book number one: The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling
Book number two: Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
Book number three: Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Alright, this round is easier than the last, but a book needs to be burned and that’s always heartbreaking (and a crime). The Casual Vacancy will be burned. I enjoyed it and I believe I gave it four stars on Goodreads, but one needs to be burned and out of these three I guess I least enjoyed it. Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging will be reread, because it’s hilarious and light-hearted, so when I’m feeling down or sad it’s a great read. I loved Stardust and I don’t think it really needs to be rewritten, but…Hey, something needs to be rewritten. I did have some trouble getting into it, so maybe that’s why I chose Stardust to be rewritten.

Round 3 (let’s hope this one is as easy as the previous)

Book number one: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
Book number two: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Book number three: Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling

Well. This is not difficult at all *cough*. I could never burn or rewrite a Harry Potter book, so that one will be reread. Alice has been one of my favourite books for such a long time, it feels like betraying it if I were to burn it (even though it’s not literally), so Alice will be rewritten and Pride and Prejudice will be… *gasp* burned. I am so sorry Jane Austen, know that I’d never do that in real life.

Round 4 (the struggle is getting real)

Book number one:  Soulless by Gail Carriger
Book number two: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Book number three: Also Known As by Robin Benway

You have no idea how glad I was to pull out Also Known As. The first two are definitely some of my favourites, and even though I really enjoyed Also Known As, it’s not one of my favourites so I’d burn that one. The Book Thief is flawless and thus needs to be reread, so Soulless will be rewritten, which, again, is not necessary.

Round 5, the final round

Book number one: Divergent by Veronica Roth
Book number two: Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda
Book number three: Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Among these three there is (thankfully) only one favourite: Devil’s Kiss by Sarwat Chadda, which will be reread. Now I have to choose between Divergent and Princess Academy, two very different books which I both enjoyed. It hurts to say this, but Princess Academy shall be burned (I’m so sorry baby) and Divergent will be rewritten.

That was it for today. It was very difficult and painful, but it was fun! I’ll be doing this more often since there are a lot more books left to choose from! Next time I’m going to put in the books I disliked though, to make it a bit easier for myself haha.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

One thought on “Burn, Rewrite or Reread?

Send an owl

