30 DAY BOOK AND LITERATURE CHALLENGE part 1

I found this challenge on Tumblr called ’30 day book and literature challenge’ and it seemed like fun, so I decided to do it! But instead of doing it over a course of 30 days, I’ll do it in two blogposts.

1. Your 10 favorite books of all time.

Harry Potter series, Percy Jackson and the Olympus series, Heroes of Olympus series, The School for Good and Evil series, The Book Thief,  The Picture of Dorian Gray, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Fangirl, The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park.

2. Your 5 least favorite books of all time.

The Time Traveler´s Wife, The Catcher in the Rye, Room, Oeroeg, Timeriders

3. Your favorite characters and which books they’re from.

But I have so many. Oh God, here we go:

Harry Potter series:

Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, Ron Weasley, Weasley Twins, Marauders minus Peter and plus Lily, McGonagall, Luna Lovegood, Neville Longbottom, Ginny Weasley, Dobby and everyone else except Umbridge and Rita Skeeter

Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus series:

Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Grover Underwood, Tyson, Apollo, Leo Valdez, Thalia Grace, Nico di Angelo, Reyna Avila Ramírez-Arellano

The School for Good and Evil:

Agatha, Sophie, Tedros, Hester, Dot

The Parasol Protectorate:

Alexia Tarabotti, Conall Maccon, Lord Akeldama, Lyall,  Ivy Tunstell, Channing Channing of the Chesterfield Channings

Rainbow Rowell:

Cath, Reagan, Levi (Fangirl), Eleanor, Park (Eleanor and Park no shit)

Pride and Prejudice:

Elizabeth Bennet, Mr. Darcy, Mr. Bingley

And so many more but I can’t go on.

4. Characters you hate and which books they’re from.

Peter Pettigrew from Harry Potter. Filthy rat.

5. If you were stranded on a desert island, what five books would you take with you? Include one reason for each.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: except for Lily and James’ death, everything was happy, plus it’s probably my favourite along with Prisoner of Azkaban of the series.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief: I can’t survive without Persassy.

Fangirl: Cath is probably my favourite female protagonist. No scratch that. Not probably. She just is. I could relate to Cath on many levels and she’s just awesome. Also, it’s so cute and funny and just gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling.

Eleanor and Park: same as Fangirl. So cute and funny and ah the warm feels.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland: one of my all time favourites, no one dies, it’s not sad etc. Stranded on a desert island, I have my own problems to worry about, I can’t deal with fictional charachters’ problems and fictional deaths that rip my heart out.

6. The best book you’ve read in the last year.

The Book Thief, no contest there.

7. The worst book you’ve read in the last year.

Ik Ook van Jou by Ronald Giphart for school

8. Your favorite quotes from books.

But I again have so many.

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” – Harry Potter

”It’s our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities.” – Harry Potter

”I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.” – Alice in Wonderland

”If everybody minded their own business, the world would go around a great deal faster than it does.” – Alice in Wonderland

”You have to believe. Otherwise, it will never happen.” – Stardust

“Sometimes writing is running downhill, your fingers jerking behind you on the keyboard the way your legs do when they can’t quite keep up with gravity.” – Fangirl

“And Sophie and Agatha lived happily ever after, for girls don’t need princes for love to call… No, they don’t need princes in their fairy tales at all.” – A World Without Princes

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.” – The Book Thief

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.” – Eleanor and Park

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” – The Fault in Our Stars

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.” – The Fault in Our Stars

“Those who find ugly meanings in beautiful things are corrupt without being charming. This is a fault. Those who find beautiful meanings in beautiful things are the cultivated. For these there is hope. They are the elect to whom beautiful things mean only Beauty. There is no such thing as a moral or an immoral book. Books are well written, or badly written. That is all.” – The Picture of Dorian Gray

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.” – Pride and Prejudice

Believe me, I tried to keep it minimal…

9. Your favorite quotes about books.

”So many books, so little time.” – Frank Zappa

10. Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books.

Five? Oh God, there are so many film adaptions I haven’t seen yet… The Harry Potter series, except The Halfblood Prince… Okay I just realised that either I have read the book and haven’t seen the film yet, or I have seen the film and I haven’t read the book…

11. Name three absolutely awful film adaptations of books.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters and I don’t have a third one I guess, since I really haven’t seen that many film adaptations of books I have read…

12. Your favorite authors.

J.K. Rowling, Rick Riordan, Oscar Wilde, Lewis Carroll, Jane Austen, Gail Carriger, Rainbow Rowell, Soman Chainani

13. Your favorite book from childhood.

Pluk en de Petteflet by Annie M.G. Schmidt

14. A book you regret not having read sooner.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

15. A book you haven’t read but is on your “will read” list.

There are over one hundred books on my to-read list on Goodreast though… Les Miserables I choose you, since I’ve wanted to read you for a long time now. I was planning on reading it this summer but I’m not sure if I’ll succeed…

Alright, that was part one! Expect part two on Monday.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

Send an owl

