July Wrap Up

foto 2 (1)

So I’m back from Macedonia! I must say I’m glad to be back. It was a lot of fun, but boy did I miss my own bed, shower, decent food, my laptop, my wifi etc. (and of course my grandfather, pet canary and friends). Wifi was terrible at the hotel and I’m so glad I had some posts queued! I didn’t read and write as much as I wanted, but at least I got to swim a lot and eat lots of delicious ice cream which is a plus! Guys, they had kit kat ice cream. Kit kat ice cream. And kinder bueno ice cream. Kinder bueno. Okay, so maybe you have that where you live, but I certainly haven’t seen that over here in the Netherlands! If you have, oh my Gods let me know where. I need. Seriously.

Alright, now it’s already the third of August and I meant to do this on Friday, but I was really tired and my laptop was still at my grandfathers and I don’t have an excuse for why I didn’t do it yesterday, but it’s time for a wrap up! I read quite a lot this month and I would’ve read more if I had stayed at home, but can’t be helped. Maybe you don’t think it’s ‘quite a lot’, but it is for me since I usually don’t get to read this much during the entire school year. Which sadly reminds me that I only have to weeks of freedom left and I am afraid I won’t be able to read as much anymore *cries*.

So yeah, I will discuss the books I’ve read this month, some with more details than others, since I can’t really remember them or I just don’t have that much to say about them (in a good or bad way. Sometimes a book is just so amazing I can’t even put it into words).

foto 2 (1)

 

The Rosie Project

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★

The first book I read this month (or finished, not sure whether I started in June or July) was The Rosie Project by Graeme C. Simsion. Now, I have to be honest with you, I wouldn’t have picked this up if it hadn’t been for the ‘three books for twenty’ sale at bol.com. I had already picked two books I wanted to read and I needed a third one. The Rosie Project seemed the most fun to read and I had read some good reviews, but if it hadn’t been for that sale, I would’ve never bought it and thus not read it. It’s just not my kind of book.

I enjoyed The Rosie Project. It was funny and cute, but it was not my favourite read of this month. Don Tilman is such an awkward dork and he doesn’t even know it. There were multiple times where I had to close my eyes in embarrassment while he had no idea that what he had just said or done was incredibly embarrassing. I’m not that social. I have become more social over the years. I can be akward. But not as awkward as Don Tilman. If there was a ‘Most Awkward Person of the Year’ award he’d win every year in my book. It was funny, but sometimes a bit annoying.

Overall The Rosie Project is a feel good book and if it’s your kind of book, go read it! It was a bit out of my comfort zone but I still enjoyed it, so that’s good. I won’t be reading the sequel though, since I didn’t enjoy it that much and to be honest I was surprised it was getting a sequel. For me the story of Don and Rosie has ended.

It’s Okay I’m Wearing Really Big Knickers

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★

First of all I want to get something straight. The only reason I gave this book three stars is because I’d feel bad giving it four or five stars compared to the other books I gave four or five stars. Now that that’s out of the way.

Georgia Nicolson can you come to life and be my BFF? Okay, she can be a bit of a bitch sometimes, but she’s a teen. I don’t agree with how she talks to her parents, sometimes she can be mean to Jas who is her best friend and she shouldn’t have done that to Dave the Laugh,  but again, she’s a teen.
Georgia is just so funny and just like Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging the book made me laugh out loud so many times. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series and see what happens next.

Doctor Who: The Silurian Gift

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★

I got this book for my birthday (among others) and read it on my way to and from Gent. It’s really short and a quick read, but nonetheless entertaining. It’s the first Doctor Who book I’ve read, so I can’t compare it to any others, but I think Mike Tucker did a good job portraying Eleven. I don’t really know why I gave it three stars, but I just felt like something was lacking, though I don’t know what.

The Fault in Our Stars (warning: spoilers ahead)

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★★

I’ve wanted to read The Fault in Our Stars for a long time, but I kept putting it of as it’s a touchy subject for me. Even though it still is, I wanted to read it before the film came out here in the Netherlands (though I still haven’t seen it. I don’t know if I’ll see it in the theatre, I’d much rather watch it in the comfort of my own bed, with my Pikachu plushie and some comfort food).

This review will be short, since I can’t put my feelings towards this book into words and I know there are already many reviews out there who can tell you why this book is so beautiful and you should read it, so go read those? (terrible review, I know haha) Just one piece of advice to girls/women: do not read this book during your period if like me you are very emotional during this time of the month. It makes it so much worse. I was towards the end of the book and my mom came downstairs. She saw me crying and actually asked me if my allergies were that bad… Then I told her that it was the book that was making me cry and she asked me (SPOILERS) ‘did someone die again?’ Again. Did someone die again. How many times did my mom catch me crying because of a death of a fictional character? Has she been spying on me?

I Am Number Four

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★

I don’t even know why I loved this book so much. It wasn’t even that well written, but I just do. I wasn’t really feeling the chemistry between Four and Sarah, but the romance wasn’t the most important part of the book, so yeah. It’s been a while since I read the book so I’m not sure what to write anymore? Oops. Maybe I should make notes this month haha. Yep, I’ll definitely do that. Or maybe I’ll just review the books after I read them… That’s an even better idea, though school’s starting soon so I might not have time for that… *sigh*.

Eleanor and Park

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★★

Eleanor and Park is one of the cutest books I’ve ever read. Rainbow Rowell just writes such cute (love) stories; I’m jealous. For some reason I can’t help making it dark and kill people off and just… Nope, I can’t. Not to mention I feel awkward writing scenes like that…

Anyway, if you haven’t read this book yet, go read it! It’s funny and cute, the setting, the plot, the characters and the relationship are realistic and I just couldn’t stop reading. I loved the fact that Rowell switched between POV’s, it made it so much more interesting and it’s enjoyable reading their thoughts towards each other. I don’t really know what else to say about this book, except again: read it!

Cinder

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★

Cinder is a parody on Cinderella, which made me want to read it so bad the moment I found that out. I love fairy tales and Cinderella was one of my favourites when I was young (along with Beauty and the Beast. Not The Little Mermaid, Ursula scared me) and now she is a cyborg. How awesome is that? And I just loved Cinder(ella). She was so badass and Iko is the cutest little Android ever.

You might think that because it’s based on Cinderella it can be a little predictable at times, but that doesn’t matter. The world Cinder takes place in and the plot itself (yes, this is not just Cinder meeting her prince and falling in love) is just so interesting, I kept finding myself wanting to learn more. Who are the Moon people? What do they want? Will they cure the virus? What happened to the princess? There were so many questions that I needed answers to, it didn’t matter that I already knew some things that were going to happen because I’m familiar with the original fairy tale.

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones and City of Ashes

Summary on Goodreads City of Bones and City of Ashes

My rating: ★★★★

Hmm… I’m not sure how to review these two, let alone apart so I decided to put them together. First of all, I enjoyed these two books. They’re fast paced, action-packed and funny, but they get four stars, especially City of Bones, because they’re quite predictable. Seriously, I saw all of the major plot twists in City of Bones coming and I went all ‘TOLD YOU’ while reading them, so that was a little disappointing. But like I said, I enjoyed them and I’ll soon read City of Glass, when I’ve finished The Fellowship of the Ring.

If any of you have read these books, let me know what you think!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

3 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

Send an owl

