An Ask-Meme for Writers

I found this ask-meme on Tumblr by maxkirin and it seemed like fun so I decided to do it!

01:When did you first start writing? I don’t know the exact age, but I have a memory of me writing a fairy story and we still lived at our old home, so I had to be eight or younger, since we moved when I was eight. I seriously don’t know when I started writing stories, but I know I started making up stories really young.

02:What was your favorite book growing up? Pluk van de Petteflet (Tow-Truck Pluck) by Annie M.G. Schmidt. I also really loved her Jip and Janneke series.

03:Are you an avid reader? Yes, though I read less than I’d like during the school year.

04:Have you ever thrown a book across the room? No. No matter how much I hate the book, I’d never throw a book. Too precious.

05:Did you take writing courses in school/college? No, they don’t offer any at my school.

06:Have you read any writing-advice books? No.

07:Have you ever been part of a critique group? No.

08:What’s the best piece of feedback you’ve ever gotten? I don’t really remember what my teacher said, but she really liked my story and wanted me to read it out loud, so that’s a compliment. I don’t really let other people read my work, so I haven’t got that much feedback.

09:What’s the worst piece of feedback you’ve ever gotten? We had to write a review once and according to my teacher (not the same as in question 8) it was full of spelling mistakes and she was really mean about it. She was totally exaggerating, as there was only ONE.

10:What’s your biggest writer pet-peeve? People reading my work without my permission. Just go stand in the corner and think of what you’ve done.

11:What’s your favorite book cover? I’m in love with so many book covers, but I especially love the School of Good and Evil series covers. They’re so pretty and I could stare at them all day.

12:Who is your favorite author? J.K. Rowling.

13:What’s your favorite writing quote?

Write the kind of story you would like to read. People will give you all sorts of advice about writing, but if you are not writing something you like, no one else will like it either.” – Meg Cabot

Rejected pieces aren’t failure; unwritten pieces are.” – Greg Daugherty

You fail only if you stop writing.” – Ray Bradbury

14:What’s your favorite writing blog? c; Ugh I have so many. Take a look at my masterpost. All the writing tumblrs I follow are listed there, but my favourites are in bold.

15:What would you say has inspired you the most? To start writing? I started writing at a young age so if anything inspired me, I honestly don’t remember.

16:How do you feel about movies based on books? I have mixed feelings, since some movies are perfection and others are horrible.

17:Would you like your books to be turned into TV shows, movies, video games, or none? All three! Though not if they mess up, haha.

18:How do you feel about love triangles? If a love triangle isn’t a huge part of the story, than I don’t really mind, though I’m not a big fan of them. Unless person B and C are both in love with A and A is only in love with one of them, but I don’t really count that as a love triangle. I just hate love triangles were person A can’t choose between B and C.

19:Do you prefer writing on a computer or longhand? Depends. If I’m writing a whole chapter on the computer, because it’s faster and my hand will otherwise hurt, but I prefer writing notes down than typing them.

20:What’s your favorite writing program? Word (though it’s the only one I’ve ever used)

21:Do you outline? Yes.

22:Do you start with characters or plot? The plot usually comes to me out of nowhere, so I guess I start with the plot and then the characters start developing in my head.

23:What’s your favorite & least favorite part of making characters? Background stories for both. They’re fun, but also a lot of work (especially when you have several major characters)

24:What’s your favorite & least favorite part of plotting? Can’t really say.

25:What advice would you give to young writers? Don’t give up. Never, ever give up. Especially when you get negative feedback or when you get rejected. Remember J.K. Rowling. Look where she is now.

26:Which do you enjoy reading the most: physical, ebook, or both? Physical. I don’t own an ereader. My mom has one: I took one look at it and knew I didn’t want one.

27:Which is your favorite genre to write? Fantasy

28:Which do you find hardest: the beginning, the middle, or the end? The beginning. It can be quite difficult to know how you want to start.

29:Which do you find easiest: writing or editing? Writing, because it’s so much more fun.

30:Have you ever written fan-fiction? Yes, but with OC’s set in for example the Pokémon world.

31:Have you ever been published? Sadly, no. But never say never!

32:How do you feel about friends and close relatives reading your work? Uncomfortable. So far my mom and my brother (not really my brother but we jokingly call each other brother and sister) have read some of my work. I’d rather have a stranger read it.

33:Are you interested in having your work published? YES. 100 percent yes. It’s my dream to one day make a living as a writer.

34:Describe your writing space. Depends on the weather. It gets way too hot in the summer in my room, so I sit downstairs at the dining table. I usually sit in my room though, at my desk with my laptop and a notebook in front of me. There will be a bulletin board hanging on my wall very soon with notes etc.

35:What’s your favorite time of day for writing? Doesn’t matter.

36:Do you listen to music when you write? Yes, I have a writing playlist in iTunes and a playlist for the current book I’m writing on with songs that are relatable to the story.

37:What’s your oldest WIP? I started rewriting the first book I ever wrote, but I put it on hold for now. I want to focus on one book at a time. It’s a story about a school for spies.

38:What’s your current WIP? The Chosen Ones – The Army of Quermo. A fantasy.

39:What’s the weirdest story idea you’ve ever had? I once wrote a story about a cherry that didn’t want to be a cherry: it wanted to be a cat. Yeah, I don’t know either.

40:Which is your favorite original character, and why? Probably Elicia Vink, because her life has been quite crappy and she knows she’s going to die, but she’s still really cheerful and optimistic.

41:What do you do when characters don’t follow the outline?

Me: 129

Change the outline, haha. It’s usually not that different from what I imagined that would happen, so it’s not a big deal.

42:Do you enjoy making your characters suffer? Guilty as charged *insert evil laugh*

43:Have you ever killed a main character? Not yet! But I have planned several deaths.

44:What’s the weirdest character concept you’ve ever come up with? I have no idea. I have so many characters, it’s ridiculous. Oh wait, one of my minor characters, Rafaël lost weight in order to become best friends with Alfons. He dyed his hair blonde, because he wanted to be just as HAWT as Alfons (I literally wrote that down in my notebook). He has unnatural white teeth and tries to be just as muscular as Alfons.

45:What’s your favorite character name? I seriously don’t know. I never choose a name I don’t like, so…

46:Describe your perfect writing space. Peaceful, just me, a lot of tea and food.

47:If you could steal one character from another author and make then yours, who would it be and why?

48:If you could write the next book of any series, which one would it be, and what would you make the book about? You mean I could just write a new Harry Potter book or something like that? I would never do that. I’d ruin it.

49:If you could write a collaboration with another author, who would it be and what would you write about? J.K. Rowling. Doesn’t matter. Though if I had a time machine (Doctor, you reading this?) I’d love to write a story with Oscar Wilde.

50:If you could live in any fictional world, which would it be? A mix between Harry Potter and Pokémon. Imagine going to Hogwarts with a loyal Pokémon at your side. Eye contact in the hallways or classroom? Pokémon battle!

If you want to do it, here’s the blank meme

– The Writing Hufflepuff

Send an owl

