Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods Review

Genre: Middle grade | fantasy
Series: Standalone, but part of the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus universe
Goodreads rating: 4.53
My rating: ★★★★★

The above cover is sadly not the version I own, but it will be mine one day. 

When Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods came out last Tuesday I immediately went out to buy it, but unfortunately I couldn’t find the version I wanted and got stuck with the UK version. Of course I could’ve waited, or ordered it, but I just couldn’t wait. I mean, it Percy Jackson, Rick Riordan, Greek myths… How could I wait?

If you’re a fan of Rick Riordan, I’m pretty sure you will love this book. It’s Greek mythology (the most important myths anyway), but told by Percy. This means that it’s sarcastic, funny and there are a lot of references to modern day things like American Idol, Doctor Who etc. If you’re looking for a new Percy Jackson story, this is not the book for you. It’s like a schoolbook about the Greek myths, but only so much better.

I gave this book five stars, but there were flaws (I can’t believe I’m saying that about something written by Rick Riordan). I’m pretty sure the book is written after the Heroes of Olympus series (which would mean Percy survives Blood of Olympus!), since he mentions ‘my friend Piper’ and I doubt he has time writing the book during Heroes of Olympus, but when he wrote about the horse Arion, he doesn’t mention Hazel. Which is really weird, since he was there when she freed him from the Amazons. Not to mention no mention of Thalia and Jason in Zeus’ chapter (especially the fact that Thalia wasn’t mentioned at all annoyed me), no Nico in Hades’ chapter or any of his other friends. Obviously he mentions Annabeth and Grover, but why does he mention Piper and not Thalia, who is a closer friend? I just found that a bit odd.
Another thing that I thought strange, was that Percy claimed that the story about Hestia giving up her throne for Dionysus was false, when Hestia clearly told him in The Last Olympian that she did just that.

But apart from these little things mentioned above, I loved this book with all my heart and devoured it. I really do recommend it. I laughed out loud so many times. I mean:  ‘Hey, girl, you must be the riptide, ’cause you sweep me of my feet.’ Smooth, Poseidon, smooth. And there are so many more jokes and pick-up lines and references that are just pure gold.

3 thoughts on “Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods Review

Send an owl

