Burn, Rewrite or Reread? #2

It’s time for another ‘Burn, rewrite or reread?’. You can find my first ‘Burn, rewrite or reread?’ here. The rules are simple: you choose three books at random (or you let a random group gerenator do it for you, so you can’t cheat). One book you burn, one you rewrite and one you reread. Not literally of course. I will never burn a book.

Round 1

Obviously I’ll reread Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. I’m not sure which one to burn and which one to reread. I just don’t really remember the other two that well. I know I enjoyed them both, so let’s take a look at my rating on Goodreads, shall we? Woah, I gave The Invisible Order: Rise of the Darklings five stars. How could I forget that? Obviously this one needs to be reread as well, but since that’s not an option I’ll rewrite it, while Death’s Daughter (I’m so sorry) will be burned.

Round 2

Note: The last one is ‘Crusade in Jeans’. I chose the exact cover I have, since I read it in Dutch years ago.Β 

This one will be easy. The Time Traveler’s Wife will be burned. I didn’t even finish it. The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a masterpiece and will be reread while Crusade in Jeans will be rewritten.

Round 3

Ugh, two of my favourite books this round. Wings will be burned, because I really didn’t like it (while I did enjoy Spells and Illusions. I never finished the series though). Β Now, to choose between Heartless and Dark Goddess. They’re both perfect, but I don’t think I could rewrite Heartless, no one can. Gail Carriger has an unique writing style. It pains me to say that Dark Goddess will be rewritten while Heartless will be reread (I really should reread the Parasol Protectorate series).

Round 4

Note: The second one is an omnibus. It includes ‘The Eart Mage’ and ‘The Water Mage’ but only ‘The Eart Mage’ is playing in this round. I chose this cover, because it’s the one I have and the other one isΒ 

Private London will be burned. I thought it was a great book and I enjoyed it, but I can’t burn either of the other two. ‘The Power of the Sword’ series by Anne West are such a big part of my childhood and have inspired me so much, and like I could ever burn a Rick Riordan book. The Lost Hero will be reread (and I really want to reread the Heroes of Olympus series before Blood of Olympus comes out, but I also got my Goodreads challenge to complete!) and ‘The Earth Mage’ will be rewritten. I don’t know if it actually needs to be rewritten, since it’s been so long since I read the series, but I definitely want to reread them.

Round 5

Note: The second book is again a Dutch book, though I’m pretty sure this has been translated in English. At least it has been translated in a lot of languages, so why not English? I’d say I recommend it, but then I’d be lying. Gee, I wonder which book I’ll burn?

I did not voluntarily read Oeroeg by Hella S. Haasse. If it hadn’t been for school, I would’ve never read it. There has been a lot of praise for this book, but I hated it. I hated it so much. It was extremely boring and I actually had trouble keeping my eyes open. That doesn’t often happen to me when I’m reading. So yeah, Oeroeg will be burned. The Lightning Thief will be reread and Death Note: Another Note will be rewritten, but only because that’s the only option left. If you’re a Death N0te fan (you don’t even have to have seen the anime or read the manga, I believe, though it’s been a few years since I read it so I’m not sure), you should definitely read this book. It’s so good! The suspense and the mystery are really well written. I should reread that one some time as well, haha.

It was a lot easier this time than the last, because I added some books I didn’t like so much since it was so hard to choose last time. It was fun again, though, so I’ll definitely do this again some time!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

One thought on “Burn, Rewrite or Reread? #2

Send an owl

