August Wrap Up

While I’m stuck at my stupid Muggle school, tons of kids are leaving for Hogwarts today… Life is unfair. Luckily, I only have one year left and I’ll be (hopefully) off to study journalism!

This last month I’ve already reviewed some books I read, but there are still some left (and this time I took notes)

foto (7)

 

I read quite a lot this month, even though school started in the middle of August. I’m afraid I won’t be able to read this much for the next few months, but we’ll see.

You can find my review for The Mortal Instruments series here and my review for Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods here.

The Fellowship of The Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★

This summer I decided to start The Lord of The Rings, but for now I have only finished The Fellowship of the Ring. I enjoyed it, but I needed something lighter (my arms hurt from holding it) so I decided to read the rest later on.
What I love most about The Lord of The Rings is the language. It is so beautiful. The choice of words, the way Tolkien describes things, their speech… Everything. It isn’t just a book, it’s art. Sometimes it was a bit slow, so that’s why I gave it four stars instead of five. Once I’ve finished the entire book, I might change it to five stars.
The writing style reminded me a lot of 19th century novels (which isn’t very surprising, since Tolkien probably read those), so if you’re not a fan of those, you might not like The Lord of The Rings. You might want to stick to the movies, haha (which I have never seen, but I will once I have finished this huge book).
I’ll write a more detailed review once I’ve read The Two Towers and The Return of The King.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★

Once I started The Maze Runner I didn’t think I was going to like it. It was just so slow and boring; I had to push myself to keep reading. I’m glad I did though, once I got around page 100 or so, it started to get really intense and interesting. The characters in the book live inside ‘The Glade’ and outside of it is this huge maze. The escape is somewhere in there, but so far they haven’t found it yet. Inside the maze live these things called ‘the Grievers’ and my are they scary. I swear, it wouldn’t have surprised me if they had given me nightmares. Like I said, it was a bit dull at first, but later on my heart was beating really fast and I couldn’t stop reading. There are quite a few mysteries in there and I was dying to know the answers to them. And the ending. Oh. My. God. I looked like this:

Literally. Like what the hell? I need to buy The Scorch Trials soon and find out what’s going on. Like soon (but I probably won’t because I need to save my money).

Looking for Alaska

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★

Looking for Alaska is the second John Green book I’ve read. I loved The Fault in Our Stars and that’s probably why my expectations were so high. I didn’t enjoy it at first, but I slowly fell in love (like falling asleep. Oh God, was that a really bad joke, or what?). The characters and story grew on me, and just like The Fault in Our Stars there was something really deep about it. I just can’t explain what. I suppose you have to read it for yourself to find out. I still prefer The Fault in Our Stars though. I loved those characters and the relationships, while I didn’t feel very attached to the characters in Looking for Alaska and there wasn’t much chemistry between the characters (for me, anyway).

Anna and The French Kiss

Summary on Goodreads

My rating: ★★★★★

Oh my God I love this book. I expected to enjoy it, a lot, but I didn’t expect to love it this much. Once I had finished it, I immediately wanted to reread it again (partly because I had finished it way too fast). I loved the story, the characters, the relationship between the characters… Everything. I just loved everything, okay. I love Anna: she has definitely made it to my favourite protagonists list. And can I move to Paris to find my own Eti- Okay, I can’t spell it. St. Clair is much easier. These two are just so cute and funny together (and apart). I devoured this book. Almost literally. But not literally because I don’t eat books. One, because they probably don’t taste too good and two, that kind of ruins the book (a lot).

I’m so happy with all the books I read this month. Have you noticed that I gave all of them four stars or higher? Yay! I love it when I only read really good books in such a long time.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

4 thoughts on “August Wrap Up

  1. […] Anna and the French Kiss by Stephenie Perkins (reread) ★★★★★ Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephenie Perkins (reread) ★★★★★ Paper Towns by John Green ★★★★ Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan ★★★★★ The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore ★★★★ The Death Cure by James Dashner ★★★★ The One by Kiera Cass ★★★★★ De Aardmagiër (The…Eartmagician? The Eartmage?) by Anne West (reread) ★★★★ Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley ★★★★★ (actually 4.5) […]

Send an owl

