Clockwork Angel Review

clockworkangel

Genre: Ya | fantasy | steampunk
Series: The Infernal Devices #1
Goodreads rating: 4.33
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them….

review

When I first heard of The Infernal Devices series, mainly when I heard about the love triangle, I thought ‘oh no, not reading that’. I hate love triangles. I hate, hate, hate them. Not the kind where person A and B are in love, and person C is in love with A or B, but the kind where person A is in love with both B and C and can’t decide who he/she loves more (*cough* Bella Swan *cough*).

When I first heard of the series though, I had no idea it was the prequel to The Mortal Instruments. If you’ve read my reviews, you know that I fell in love with the series (though I didn’t expect to), so naturally I decided to give the prequel series a go. Still, like I said, I hate love triangles so I wasn’t too sure. Clare has written love triangles before, well written love triangles, but still.

Thankfully, the love triangle wasn’t a big part of the book. I loved both boys, right now I’m on neither team. I’m just more curious to find out more about them and I just want to read more of their friendship, which was one of the things I really, really loved. Another thing I really loved was Tessa. I immediately fell in love with her, while I found Clary a bit annoying at times and wanted to yell  ‘WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’RE DOING?’ at her quite a few times, especially in City of Bones.

Speaking of City of Bones, at first I wasn’t going to give Clockwork Angel four stars, as I was comparing it to City of Bones, which had so much more action. I was thinking this too soon though, since in the end there was a lot of action in this book as well. And if I’m comparing anyway, I pretty much loved all the characters, while I needed to warm up to some of the characters in City of Bones. Especially Simon. I can’t tell you why, but at first I thought ‘meh’, while now he’s one of my favourite characters. Last comparison: if you’ve read my small review on City of Bones in my July wrap up I found the book quite predictable. I saw all the major plot twists coming. I didn’t see the biggest plot twist in Clockwork Angel coming until one sentence before and the other one I did joke about, but I didn’t think it would actually be true.

The only thing I didn’t really like about the book was the prologue, which was a bit slow for me. I understand that it was necessary for the story, but I just didn’t like the pace. I can’t wait to read Clockwork Prince, but I’ll have to, haha.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

10 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel Review

  1. I didn’t expect to like Mortal Instruments either, especially not as much as I did, then this series is just as good! I know what you mean, I loath love triangles, which seems to be a popular opinion nowadays, so I wonder why there are still so many of them. (I’m totally for Jem, I just like him better, but that’s me, I don’t know who’s right for her. No wait, she can have Will and leave Jem for me!)

Send an owl

