Picture Prompt #1

Disclaimer: I do not own these pictures. If these are yours and you want to be credited on this page, please let me know in the comments. 

The very first Picture Prompt on my blog! I love the above pictures so much; it’s beautiful and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. The challenge for this picture is (you don’t have to follow it. If you have a great story idea, but it doesn’t add up with the challenge, feel free to just ignore it! The challenge is more like a guideline):

Write the story of this couple in three parts. It’s up to you whether you view this as romantic or platonic. Maybe they’re a couple, maybe they’re friends, maybe they’re brother and sister… It’s completely up to you.  So is the word count.

If you’re participating, share the link of your story so I can read it! :) You can also write it in the comments if you want (if it fits).

My story:

Maddy and I met when we were four. Being the gentleman I was I gave her the prettiest flowers I could find. The only thing she was interested in was my hat, which you can now find in her closet. It was a simple brown hat with flaps, but she loved it. She said she had never seen such a wonderful hat. I have to mention that that was what she said about everything until she was a bit older: ”I have never seen such wonderful ice cream.” ”I have never seen such a wonderful bird.” ”I have never seen such a wonderful nose.” She was weird that way.

We didn’t see each other for a while after primary school. My dad got a job in Barcelona and we lost touch, even though we said we never would. When I came back, two years later, things were different. Maddy was no longer the silly little girl I grew up with. She had matured a lot, too much even. I wouldn’t have recognized her if it wasn’t for the simple brown hat with flaps. Being the gentleman I was I gave her the prettiest flowers I could find. I told her that I had never seen such a wonderful hat.

That day we met again is now sixty years ago. Maddy is still wearing the simple brown hat with flaps. I again found her the prettiest flowers I could find, like I have every year on this day. And like every year, we exclaim in unison how we have never seen such a wonderful hat.

Next week: Title Prompt

– The Writing Hufflepuff

2 thoughts on “Picture Prompt #1

Send an owl

