The Scorch Trials Review

scorchtrials

WARNING: Do not read this review if you haven’t read The Maze Runner yet.

Genre: Ya | dystopian
Series: The Maze Runner #2
Goodreads rating: 3.95
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive (Goodreads).

review

While The Maze Runner started slowly, in The Scorch Trials you are immediately thrown right into the action. I couldn’t stop turning the pages and though a lot of my questions from TMR were answered, I’ve got a lot of new unanswered ones.

In the Maze they had to look out for the Grievers. In the Scorch it’s the Cranks: people with the Flare. There are different kind of Cranks; those who aren’t crazy yet like Brenda and Jorge and those who definitely are crazy. The Grievers scared me, but the Cranks scared me a lot more. They’re human beings turned into, well, monsters actually, because of a disease. That could very well happen to us! No thank you. Not to mention that fighting Grievers sounds a lot easier to me than having to kill another human being, even though they don’t really look human anymore.

I’ve read a couple reviews on Goodreads. What annoyed people the most (I assume this annoyed them in TMR as well) is that Dashner doesn’t show but tells. I guess that’s true, but I didn’t notice until someone else pointed it out. If you hate this kind of writing, I suppose this book (series, assuming he keeps doing this in The Death Cure and The Kill Order as well) isn’t for you. These people were really annoyed by it, and it ruined the book for them.

What annoyed me was Brenda. She meets Thomas and she is immediately clingy and acts like she is in love with him. Er- you just met him? I’m a hater of insta-love, so this really annoyed me. I also felt like she didn’t really have much personality. Neither did Jorge, but he didn’t appear as much as she did. I still love Minho and Newt, though Thomas is starting to annoy me a little bit. A reviewer on Goodreads summed it up nicely: “Oh Teresa I love you, wait I hate you, wait where’s Brenda I miss her”. Thank you, Mitchel Broussard (click on the link to read his review), for putting my feelings into words. These things made me go for four stars instead of five (though  I don’t think I would’ve given the book five stars if it weren’t for these things. I really enjoyed it, but it’s not as good as the other books I’ve given  five stars.)

Another cliffhanger at the end of the book… *sigh*. Stop doing this to me Dashner, seriously.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

3 thoughts on “The Scorch Trials Review

  1. I wasn’t a fan of the sequels to Maze Runner, maybe just the bar had been set too high. (it was only really the death cure that I didn’t like though) I totally agree about Teresa! Well said!

    • The Maze Runner itself was better than The Scorch Trials, though I did enjoy it :) I’ll probably read The Death Cure this year; I’m really curious to see whether I enjoy it or not. On Goodreads you can see the rating decrease with each book. Yeah, the whole Thomas/Teresa/Brenda thing really annoyed me. It’s like Dashner thought: well, every succesful YA book has a love triangle, so let’s throw in Brenda.

Send an owl

