Blood of Olympus Review

foto 5 (2)

Note: This review will be split into two parts: a non-spoiler part (unless you find ‘Character A and B developed a great bromance’ a major spoiler, than don’t read this part either) and a spoiler part (where you will find major spoilers). 

Genre: Middle grade | fantasy
Series: Heroes of Olympus #5
Goodreads rating: 4.41
My rating: ★★★★★

Summary

Though the Greek and Roman crewmembers of the Argo II have made progress in their many quests, they still seem no closer to defeating the earth mother, Gaea. Her giants have risen—all of them—and they’re stronger than ever. They must be stopped before the Feast of Spes, when Gaea plans to have two demigods sacrificed in Athens. She needs their blood—the blood of Olympus—in order to wake.

The demigods are having more frequent visions of a terrible battle at Camp Half-Blood. The Roman legion from Camp Jupiter, led by Octavian, is almost within striking distance. Though it is tempting to take the Athena Parthenos to Athens to use as a secret weapon, the friends know that the huge statue belongs back on Long Island, where it “might” be able to stop a war between the two camps.

The Athena Parthenos will go west; the Argo II will go east. The gods, still suffering from multiple personality disorder, are useless. How can a handful of young demigods hope to persevere against Gaea’s army of powerful giants? As dangerous as it is to head to Athens, they have no other option. They have sacrificed too much already. And if Gaea wakes, it is game over (Goodreads).

Non-spoiler review

First of all I want to express my love for the cover. I’ve always preferred the US to the UK editions (though I own all the UK editions with Son of Neptune being an exception), but this time I actually prefer the UK one. I know there has been a lot of criticism, but I think it’s gorgeous (especially Gaia who I’m sorry you can’t see in my picture) and all seven are on the cover, which is a big plus. Besides, I wanted my copy signed and if I had to get a signed copy from the US, not only would that have cost me more (shipping costs), it would have taken a lot longer to arrive. I can’t wait that long!

On to the book itself! I find it really hard to discuss this without giving any spoilers and just writing ‘afadjghj’, but here we go!

It took me a while to finish this one, even though the other books in the series (and the original) the most it took me was three days. The thing is, I wanted to devour this book, but also savour it. Do you see my problem? Even now I’m having trouble getting into Clockwork Prince, because my entire body and soul is still screaming (okay, maybe that’s an exaggeration) for Blood of Olympus. I started reading Percy Jackson in my first year of secondary school, and now it’s my senior year and I’ve just finished Blood of Olympus and I can’t properly function. It’s Harry Potter all over again, guys. Ugh.

But above paragraph doesn’t tell you much, does it? This book had its flaws, I guess. I’ve been going through the Blood of Olympus tag on Tumblr and immediately stopped as people were kind of bashing the book and it made me upset, haha. Yes, I’m also disappointed that Percy, Annabeth, Frank and Hazel didn’t get a pov, but it didn’t ruin the book for me! Besides, have you guys heard? Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes! At least my childhood is not as over as it seemed, haha. A lot of people also felt like it was rushed, especially the big fight at the end, but I’ll discuss that in my spoiler part of the review. And people talked bad about Reyna. Do not talk bad about Reyna or I will hunt you down.

Blood of Olympus has five povs: Jason, Piper, Leo, Reyna and Nico. I loved that the last book in the series ends with the povs of the original trio of Heroes of Olympus. Reyna and Nico’s povs were perfection. I love Nico even more than I already did and I just wanted to hug him throughout the entire book. He went through so much character development and I’m so proud of him. I loved Reyna before, but now she’s one of my favourite characters. She is just so bad ass.

What I probably loved the most was all the relationship developments throughout the book, especially Annabeth and Piper. They were already best friends in Mark of Athena, but now they’re even closer. I love Percy and Jason’s bromance and Percy and Leo finally sort of bonded.

‘Like your zodiac signt?’ Percy asked. ‘I’m a Leo.’
‘No, stupid,’ Leo said. ‘I’m a Leo. You’re a Percy.’

This still cracks me up days later. Also, Frank, Hazel and Leo friendship- yes! The Percabeth moments were adorable, but you should read those for yourself. I’m not going to spoil those. This book teared me up, made me smile, squeal and gave me so many emotions that I can’t describe. Now, on to the spoiler part. If you haven’t finished the book yet, stop reading now.

Spoiler review

I want to start with the big fight at the end, since I’ve seen a lot of people complain that it was too easy and too fast. Yes, once the gods arrived the giants were easily defeated. But guys, let’s take a moment to remember the past fights with the giants. It took the seven some time to defeat them, but once a god decided to step in and help, the giant was easily defeated. This time, the gods just decided to interfere a bit sooner, since they understood that no matter how awesome their children are, even they can’t fight about thirty giants and a bunch of monsters all at once without their parents’ help. Yes, after that, Gaia was easily defeated, but can’t things be easy for once?

You know what really made me happy? The gods having some quality time with their kids. So what if that quality time was spent in a creepy church with skeletons or fighting giants side by side. I teared up when Hades told Nico that he wanted to see him happy. Or when Jason told Zeus he just wanted to spend time with him. Or Aphrodite kissing Piper. I loved it so much.

I don’t know about you guys, but I didn’t know how much I had missed Apollo until he appeared again. He’s such a dramaqueen and a narcist- I love him. I’d probably hate his guts if I knew him in real life, but I can’t help loving fictional characters like Apollo.

And can we just talk about how bad ass Hylla is? It definitely runs in the family. I mean, she just flips an entire car towards Orion and later on she tosses Orion, a giant several blocks down the street. Talk about super strenght.

Last but not least (there’s a lot more I’d want to talk about, but I don’t want to make this review too long and so much happened and I loved so many things, that I honestly don’t remember everything) everyone got a happy ending. Maybe not realistic, but these kids went through so much. Percy and Annabeth can finally spend time together and they can peacefully live their lives in New Rome. Frank and Hazel are no longer nobodies in New Rome. Jason has finally found peace with the whole Greek-Roman thing and he and Piper are happy. Leo has found his way back to Calypso (now find your way back to your best friends who are desperately telling themselves that you’re not dead). Reyna has made a lot of friends and the possibility of taking a break of being a Praetor. And Nico no longer has to hide who he is. He’s finally at home with a possibility of being happy (anyone here shipping Solangelo?). Thank you Uncle Rick, for giving these characters what they deserve and helping me through my childhood and teenage years. Thank you so much.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

Ps. Look at my gorgeous Percy Jackson shelf

The notebook just reminds me of Athena, so I decided to put it there.

Pps. Sorry that it’s so long, but it could (and actually should, but I don’t want to do that to you guys and I’m too lazy) be a lot longer haha.

12 thoughts on “Blood of Olympus Review

  1. Yeah, I liked the UK cover for this one better too. I’m so jealous you got it signed! I savored mine too! (or tried to, but after 200 pages I devoured it) I really liked Reyna in this book! I agree it didn’t feel over and there wasn’t enough of all of the seven, mainly PERCY. I wanted to hug poor little Nico too! (even if he doesn’t do touching)

    I didn’t know there was going to be MORE!!! :) Even if it’s only another mythology book. Maybe Percy will comment on stuff that happened in Blood of Olympus!

    Spoiler part:
    I just wanted to hear all of the demigods thoughts about fighting with their parents! I’m not upset about the ending, I like happily ever after. :)

    Oooh such a pretty shelf!

  2. Awesome, Awesome, Awesome Review!!!!! The UK cover is definitely nicer. I just finished this last night so I’m still gathering my thoughts, but I agree with everything you said. The only disappointment for me was the lack of a Percabeth pov. I was happy with the ending though and I thought everything was nicely tied up. Did you catch the hint that was dropped by Annabeth as to who Magnus Chase may be? And I love your Percy bookshelf. What is the last book on it? The one that’s standing up and looks like there’s a lock on it?

    • Yeah, it seems like everyone is disappointed with the lack of a Percabeth review. It just felt like they weren’t there! (even though they were) I fangirled so hard at that hint! :D It’s a notebook- it reminded me of Athena because of the owls so I decided to put it there :)

Send an owl

