BookBlogWriMo Day 6

#TBT – Favorite Childhood Books

The obvious choice for this would obviously be Harry Potter. Let’s not go for that series though! I’m going to go for a series that I read before Harry Potter and loved and still do (I’m planning on rereading them next year).

foto (11)

De Macht van het Zwaard (The Power of the Sword) series by Anne West. I’ve got the omnibus versions and I’m really glad I do, because I really dislike the original covers!

This series had a lot of influence on me. I was already into fantasy before reading this, but I fell in love with the genre when I started the first book. I don’t know how many times I’ve reread them, but I carried them around with me for a long time. I don’t know if they’ve been translated into English or any other languages, but I really hope so. Anne West deserves to be read all over the world (okay, maybe I will really dislike them after I’ve reread them last year, but I doubt it).

The series is about a girl named Cyane (I still have no idea how to pronounce that) who has to defeat the Black Mage, the villain of the book. She is trained by the Earth Mage (I don’t remember his name) and travels across her world where she meets many friends and enemies. There are such great characters in this book and in the end they have such a nice gang that I wished I could be a part of. I also loved the worldbuilding in this. I honestly don’t remember it that much, but I definitely wanted to live there. Maybe after Cyane defeats the Black Mage though.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

5 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo Day 6

Send an owl

