BookBlogWriMo Day 17

Favourite Book Tropes

I’m back from Barcelona and I’m exhausted! I actually considered doing this tomorrow, but I don’t like being behind. I’ll write a post about Barcelona somewhere this week, but right now I’m just lying in my bed trying to regain my energy.

I spend the day finishing De Thuiskomst by Anna Enquist for school, so I can finally start Clockwork Princess! I might write a review about De Thuiskomst, but I’m not sure yet.

Alright, back to BookBlogWriMo! What are my favourite book tropes? I have to be honest, I had to look up a few since I couldn’t think of any that I like!

Talking animals
Apparently this is a trope in fantasy and I have to admit it’s one I love. I always wish animals could talk, so I love it when they do in books.

There’s magic in the real world, but muggles/mortals/mundanes etc. can’t see it
The reason I love this one is because is because we can sort of relate. You’re at King’s Cross and you want to run to platform 9 3/4. You’re in NY you want to go to Camp Halfblood and the Institute and so on. The stories take place in places we’re familiar with yet with a twist. I can’t get enough of this trope to be honest.

Love Hate Relationships
I just love it when two characters hate each other at first, than slowly fall for each other and refuse to admit their feelings. These relationships make me fangirl and are definitely my favourite kind of love.

I’m sure there are more tropes that I love, but now that I can finally start Clockwork Princess I just can’t wait!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

3 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo Day 17

  1. I especially love it when the talking animals are really wise and give our characters advice. Because then I feel like what if they really are so much smarter than humans? Are we misimagining not just humans but also animals??

Send an owl

