BookBlogWriMo Day 18

Favourite subgenres

I know this is a day late- sorry about that! I’ve been at home sick these past three days and even though I had the strenght to do BookBlogWriMo on Monday, I didn’t yesterday.

Yesterday’s prompt is about my favourite subgenres, but I’m just going to talk about my favourite genres minus the sub. Fantasy is just fantasy to me guys, why make it so complicated!

Fantasy
Fantasy has always been my favourite. I’m not really sure what started it, but I’ve read fantasy books and watched fantasy shows and films as long as I can remember. It doesn’t matter if it’s high fantasy or urban or whatever, fantasy is fantasy. I love reading about magic and new (or old but different from how we know them) worlds. I can’t even really describe why I love fantasy- I can escape in Anna and the French Kiss as well, really, so it’s not really about escapism. Besides, it’s not like life is a highway in fantasy. Tragic happens there too, so I really don’t think that’s it.

Steampunk
I think steampunk is a subgenre, though I’m not sure. When I think steampunk, The Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger come to mind (and it’s prequel series The Finishing School series). It’s one of my favourite series ever, not necessarily because it’s steampunk, though I do love that aspect. It takes place in Victorian London, just not quite as we know it, with werewolves, vampires, ghosts and most of all the kick-ass Alexia Tarabotti who is something else entirely. Also a diverse (and adoring) cast of characters, a rich story and tea. I haven’t even read that much steampunk, but I love it because of Gail Carriger.

YA Romance
Really depends on the story and the characters though. I enjoy the romance part of course, but if the story is bad, the characters aren’t likeable, the writing flow is terrible, and it doesn’t make me laugh, I really don’t care if A and B end up together or not. They can fall off a cliff for all I care. I don’t necessarily need to laugh, though it’s a big plus.

Mystery/detective
I’ve always enjoyed a good old mystery, though for some reason they’re never that high on my TBR. Once I start reading them though, I really can’t put them down!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

3 thoughts on “BookBlogWriMo Day 18

  1. I hope you’re feeling better. Fantasy is my favorite too, though it used to be Sci-fi. I haven’t read much Steampunk either, it usually just doesn’t sound good to me though. I agree, books are are almost always better with comedy.

Send an owl

