Throne of Glass Review

Throne_of_Glass_UK

Genre: Ya | fantasy
Series: Throne of Glass #1
Goodreads rating: 4.24
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

Meet Celaena Sardothien.
Beautiful. Deadly.
Destined for greatness.

In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake: she got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted? (Goodreads)

review

This book had been on my TBR for a while, so when I noticed this gorgeous cover staring at me and begging me to take it home, how could I resist?

I love fantasy, especially one with great worldbuilding and characters. I love that my edition has a map of Erilea in it, so that I knew where all the places mentioned are located. Maybe it’s weird, but I just like knowing that! There are a lot of interesting places on the map (and mentioned in the book) that I hope we’ll visit in the sequels.

I really enjoyed Maas’ writing style. It was fast-paced and not an overflood of descriptions, just enough so that I knew what everything looks like.

I also loved the characters and how we get to know them bit by bit. There’s good character development, though there will be probably even more in the future books. I also love how the relationships between the love interests progressed slowly. Right now I definitely prefer Dorian, but if she ends up with Chaol I’ll take Dorian for myself haha.

I’ve read some people complaining about Celaena not being bad ass enough, because she’s also girly. Seriously? I love that she’s girly and an assassin. Personally I’d find it a bit cliche if she wasn’t girly, or if she became girlier when she fell in love. Thank God that didn’t happen. I love that Celaena loves dresses and weapons equally and that beneath her coldhearted exterior she’s still a girl who cares abour her appearance. And again: character development!

There was also a mystery in this, which I loved. I felt so stupid for not figuring it out myself sooner. It was kind of obvious. I love mystery elements and trying to solve it myself.

All in all, this book had it all: awesome characters, awesome worldbuilding, awesome fights, awesome dialogue, awesome dresses, just awesome everything. I can’t wait to read Crown of Midnight, though I’m not sure if I should read that one first, or Assassin’s Blade? If you’ve read them, let me know! I don’t want to go through another The Infernal Devices (spoiling myself by reading City of Heavenly Fire first).

signature

6 thoughts on “Throne of Glass Review

  1. This book has been on my list FOREVER! I love books that start with a map! Yeah I agree, it’s nice to see a tough girl who is a girly. Okay, I have to stop putting off reading this book!

Send an owl

