Lola and the Boy Next Door Review

Happy Sinterklaas to all the Dutchies out there! :) I’m celebrating tonight, which means I’ll finally own Alpha Sapphire and the new Bloomsbury Harry Potter box set! Are you celebrating tonight? Have fun either way!

lola

Genre: Ya | contemporary | romance
Series: Anna and the French Kiss #2
GoodreadsΒ rating: 4.02
My rating:Β β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…β˜…

summary

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the negihborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

review

Can I just start with: snafaedgtha because feels and cuteness overload <3

I’ve often read that people prefer Anna over Lola, but I love both books equally. I do prefer Anna as a protagonist, though. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Lola, but I loved Anna more. I loved her and St. Claire’s appearances through out the novel. I expected one, maybe two, short cameos, but they appeared quite a few times and I loved their relationship with Lola and Cricket. Speaking of Cricket, he’s such a cutie.Β Before he was introduced I thought he was going to be really mean and annoying, but he’s such a sweetheart and cutie and just jafbsh <3 Where can I get my own St. Claire and Cricket? Like seriously, I need directions guys. I have the feeling Stephenie Perkins is giving me unrealistic expectations of guys.

I loved Lola’s character development, though I can’t say much about it without giving anything away, which I really don’t want to do. I also loved her two dads. They weren’t stereotypical, thank God. Not that I expected that from Stephenie Perkins, but still, it was a relief.

I’ve once read a review saying that there isn’t much of a plot, but I didn’t really notice. It was mainly about Lola and Cricket’s relationship, so maybe not much happened plot wise? I honestly don’t know. I loved it. I flew through it just like with Anna. I laughed and I squealed and everyone should read this book. I do recommend reading Anna first though, it’s just more fun that way!

Ps. I couldn’t help but imagine a (taller) Dylan O’Brien playing Cricket. How do you guys feel about that fan casting?

signature

17 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door Review

  1. I loved her two dads as well- they were unique, like every character in Lola. I think I do like Anna and the French Kiss better, but perhaps it’s because it is the first one I read by Stephanie Perkins and it carries that memory with it. Great review! :)

  2. I totally approve of your plot casting of Dylan O’Brien as Cricket! But I agree, I loved love Lola just as much as Anna; and Cricket-I really need a Cricket or St. Claire.

  3. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed this just as much as Anna! It’s been sitting on my shelf but I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but I’ve often heard that Anna is “better” so it made me a little wary.

Send an owl

