Isla and the Happily Ever After Review

isla

Genre: Ya | contemporary | romance
Series: Anna and the French Kiss #3
Goodreads rating: 4.14
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on introspective cartoonist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to confront the challenges every young couple must face, including family drama, uncertainty about their college futures, and the very real possibility of being apart.

Featuring cameos from fan-favorites Anna, Étienne, Lola, and Cricket, this sweet and sexy story of true love—set against the stunning backdrops of New York City, Paris, and Barcelona—is a swoonworthy conclusion to Stephanie Perkins’s beloved series.

review

I debated with myself about the rating for the longest time: three or four stars? This wasn’t the case with Anna and Lola; I instantly knew I was going to give them five stars. You can say I was a bit disappointed by Isla and the Happily Ever After. There are two things that saved this book from a three stars rating. 1) The ending. 2) Anna, St. Clair, Lola and Cricket. Yeah, the protagonists from the other two books saved this book. That shouldn’t be the case right? I loved Anna, St. Claire, Lola and Crickets relationship in Lola and the Boy Next Door, but I know I would’ve loved the book without Anna and St. Clair or with just a small cameo. But Isla? I don’t know. Without these four I probably would’ve given the book three stars, which isn’t bad, but not because of the story or the characters, but because of Stephenie Perkins writing. I can’t give her below three stars, because I love her writing style.

First of all, I didn’t really like Isla and Josh. I didn’t hate them either, I just… I don’t know. I often felt nothing towards them and if I did feel something, it was annoyance. I can’t really elaborate on why I didn’t like them or the things that annoyed me, as I don’t want to spoil anything. If you want to know, ask me in the comments or on Goodreads.

I didn’t like their romance either. I know it didn’t come out of nowhere, but I felt it happened way too quickly and I never squealed. The first time I squealed in this book was because of Anna and St. Clair. The second time because of Lola and Cricket. I think you get what I’m getting at. I need chemistry in order to ship people. For me, there was no chemistry between these two. Sure, the ending made me smile, because I’m a romantic and all that, but did they give me feels? Nope. Not even one tiny feel.

I didn’t really like the story of this one either. There was a lot of unnecessary drama, that felt like it was only there for the sake of drama. I understand love comes with problems, but I didn’t find them to be real problems, or at least big problems. They could’ve easily solved them by talking. You know that thing you do with your mouth and sound comes out of it? Do you Isla?

What I did like was their trip to Barcelona. I loved how Perkins described the city and it was like I was there all over again. It brought back memories, especially when Isla and Josh left Park Güell. I found it funny how quickly they found their way out of the park, as we ended up in the middle of nowhere, haha.

I also did laugh a few times, especially when Anna, St. Clair, Lola and Cricket appeared, just not as much as I did in Anna and Lola. I guess my expectations were just really high because of the previous two books, or I wouldn’t feel so dissatisfied after finishing the book.

signature

6 thoughts on “Isla and the Happily Ever After Review

Send an owl

