Waistcoats and Weaponry Review

 

waistcoats

Genre: Ya | fantasy | steampunk
Series: The Finish School #3
Goodreads rating: 4.13
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Class is back in session…
Sophronia continues her second year at finishing school in style–with a steel-bladed fan secreted in the folds of her ball gown, of course. Such a fashionable choice of weapon comes in handy when Sophronia, her best friend Dimity, sweet sootie Soap, and the charming Lord Felix Mersey stowaway on a train to return their classmate Sidheag to her werewolf pack in Scotland. No one suspected what–or who–they would find aboard that suspiciously empty train. Sophronia uncovers a plot that threatens to throw all of London into chaos and she must decide where her loyalties lie, once and for all.

Gather your poison, steel tipped quill, and the rest of your school supplies and join Mademoiselle Geraldine’s proper young killing machines in the third rousing installment in the New York Timesbestselling Finishing School Series by steampunk author, Gail Carriger.

review

Another enjoyable instalment in The Finishing School series! If you’re not familiar with these books (they’re not as popular as they should be, like their sequel series The Parasol Protectorate, which I highly recommend), go read them right now! As of now there are three books in the series: Etiquette and Espionage, Curtsies and Conspiracies and this one: Waistcoats and Weaponry. I think a lot of you out there would just buy them for their covers; I mean, look at them. I hadn’t heard of Etiquette and Espionage or Gail Carriger, but the cover just immediately grabbed my attention! And then the blurb! I’m so happy I picked it up, as it led to discovering The Parasol Protectorate series, which is one of my favourite series. I do recommend reading them before The Finishing School though (do keep in mind they’re adult books!), as there isn’t much world building in the Finishing School series while there is The Parasol Protectorate. The society is a lot more explained in those books, and meeting characters from Parasol in Finishing School is just a lot more fun!

Okay, that was my love/worship/praise for the series itself is out of the way, on to Waistcoats and Weaponry in particular. The characters were amazing as usual and they have grown since the first book. ‘Growing up’ was a significant theme throughout the book and I loved the new problems that came with it. The book still had a lot of light moments like all of Gail’s books. She has such a witty style and I love her humour.

I also want to talk about how British this book is. I mean, yeah, it takes place in Victorian England, but the mentions of tea, oh my god. The characters are so upset when they don’t have tea; I loved it. Probably because I can relate, haha. I can’t live without tea. I get cranky, guys. Real cranky.

Does anyone know what this gif is from? I need to see this. Like right now.

Okay, back to the book! I feel like it’s hard writing a review without giving spoilers for the book and the series. Just know that if you love steampunk, fantasy (though there is more fantasy in the sequel series), good humour (though I guess it depends on your own sense of humour. I love Gail’s, but you might disagree), mystery, loveable characters, tea, Victorian England, espionage and so, so much more, than read this series! Though like I said before, I’d recommend reading The Parasol Protectorate first, it does depend on your age!

signature

6 thoughts on “Waistcoats and Weaponry Review

  1. I’ve been wanting to read the Finishing School series. The idea of being in a school where etiquette is taught and a protagonist that is challenging and strong, plus a couple more not-your-everyday-stuff thrown into the mix sold me. I must get a copy of this book. :)

  2. I’ve heard about this series, but honestly, the character names are a little off putting. I hate when names are just too far out, like the author is trying too hard to have unique sounding characters.

  3. So they started out as adult books then had a young adult series? I didn’t know that. I’m a big fan of world building so I think I’ll follow your suggestion. I wasn’t sure on the whole steampunk thing, but I think I have to try it because I like books with humor. lol @ the British-ness.

Send an owl

