Polyvore For Writers

You may or may not be familiar with the website Polyvore. Before you read on, let me warn you.

Polyvore is highly addictive. If you value your social life, stay away. If you think that you should spend your time actually writing your characters instead of putting outfits together for them, thanΒ stay away. I thought that too, and I just spent hours on this website.

You’re still here? Alright, but don’t say I didn’t warn you.

So what is Polyvore you ask? Polyvore is a website where you can put together outfits, but you can also use it to make a collage. I’ve already noticed that a lot of people don’t use it for the fashion part and that there are quite a few writers on there (and I’m sure that there are much more!).

I personally find it a great way to get to know my characters better. I’ve always kind of pictured their style, but looking at clothes and thinking “No, this doesn’t fit Rose.” and ”This is perfect for Ashelle.”, made me eh…closer? That sounds weird, but it made me ‘closer’ (as close as you can get to fictional characters) to them. Here are some of my creations:

An Autumn outfit for Ashelle.

This is something you can usually see Rose wearing.

As you can see in this collage, Mick is a big Potterhead, a Hufflepuff, a bookworm and a demigod. The Red Hulk is there because of the nickname Rose gave him when they were younger.

Sophie’s one is my favourite. I finally kind of figured out how to do some stuff. It doesn’t have an outfit (I’m going to do that soon, though! I might already have done that once this is posted), but a lot of other stuff that signifies her. She loves fashion, make-up and perfume. Taylor Swift is one of her favourite artists.

I’ll probably also make some outfits for myself (though I’d totally wear the outfit I made for Ashelle) and maybe some other stuff once I’m more familiar with the site.

If you’re on Polyvore, let me know! I’m The Writing Hufflepuff of course, haha.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

5 thoughts on “Polyvore For Writers

  1. I have a feeling this is something I might start using a lot. I always have trouble trying to visualise clothes for my characters because some, if not most, of them don’t have the same style as I do so I often find it hard to find their own fashion voice, if that makes any sense. I think this might either very useful or very distracting. I’ve been trying to finish my final draft of a story since September but something tells me with this little website I just might be a little longer! Thanks for sharing this! :)

  2. […] Bookish Goals 2015: Fairytale Retelling Reading Challenge The Gif Book Tag Favourite Christmas Songs I Have Been Spoiled by Sinterklaas Bookish Goals 2015: Finish These Series Brilliantly Novel’s Awards Bookish Goals 2015: Rereads 200 Followers Giveaway All The Awards Polyvore For Writers […]

Send an owl

