Let It Snow Review

letitsnow

Genre: Ya | contemporary
Goodreads rating: 3.87
My rating: ★★★★

summary

An ill-timed storm on Christmas Eve buries the residents of Gracetown under multiple feet of snow and causes quite a bit of chaos. One brave soul ventures out into the storm from her stranded train and sets off a chain of events that will change quite a few lives. Over the next three days one girl takes a risky shortcut with an adorable stranger, three friends set out to win a race to the Waffle House (and the hash brown spoils), and the fate of a teacup pig falls into the hands of a lovesick barista.

A trio of today’s bestselling authors – John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle- brings all the magic of the holidays to life in three hilarious and charming interconnected tales of love, romance, and kisses that will steal your breath away.

review

It was hard to give this book a rating on Goodreads. After all, it contains three stories written by different authors. If it weren’t for the last story (The Patron Saint of Pigs by Lauren Myracle) I would’ve probably given this book five stars. It’s not that I didn’t like that story at all, but I’ll get to that!

This book is (obviously) perfect for the Christmas holidays. It was a fluffy, light read and both Maureen Johnson and John Green got me to ship the ships in a short amount of time. I loved the development their characters went through. John Green once again wrote a great friendship and he and Johnson made me giggle aloud a few times. Their stories were perfect.

Now on to Lauren Myracle’s story. It’s not that I hated it. I did enjoy it somewhat. I just felt it was too short (I know, I know, it’s a short story) and the ending felt a bit rushed. It’s a love story, but we didn’t get to see much of Jeb (though we already know a little bit from the first two stories) and I just wish we could’ve seen a bit more of him and What’s-Her-Name (I find it incredibly awkward that I can’t remember her name). Not to mention I wish she went through more character development. Over and over again people tell her that she’s self-absorbed, but she doesn’t really do anything with it, except that she mopes around. I didn’t like her at all, to be honest. I think this story would’ve been a lot better if it just had been longer, so that we could see her grow and see more of her and Jeb’s relationship. Show us why they should be together, because honestly I didn’t get that. What I loved about this story were the side characters (TEA CUP PIG. I WANT ONE) and the cameos of the couples from the first two stories. They saved the story.

In short, I didn’t really like Myracle’s story, Johnson’s was my favourite out of all of them (it was funny, quirky, enjoyable main and side characters… Just EVERYTHING.) and Green’s was just what you expect. Again, I loved the friendships that he wrote. It’s my favourite thing about his writing (even though I haven’t read that much of his yet).

If you’re in the mood for a cute, fun holiday story pick this up! I hope you’ll enjoy it just as much as I did.

signature

8 thoughts on “Let It Snow Review

  1. I loved Maureen’s story the best too.
    John’s was like an extended Christmas version of Paper Towns, but yes, sucker for his books that I am, I loved it.
    And it’s true… I didn’t like Myracle’s either.
    And my friends got my hopes too high saying that it comes together beautifully at the end. I loved the fact that the earlier stories’ characters were there at the end, but I didn’t feel it coming together so “beautifully”.
    But I’m willing to admit that it was probably because my friends spoilt me and I was hoping it would be even more beautiful.

Send an owl

