Best and Worst Books of 2014

I read 53 books this year (not counting rereads), but which ones were the best and worst? Below I’ll list all the books I rated 5 and 1 or 2 stars. If you click on the covers you will be directed towards the Goodreads page.

Five stars

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower was by far my favourite book this year. Closely followed by The Book Thief. If you haven’t read these yet, go read them now. They’re beautiful and inspirational and so much more. Obviously I recommend the others too!

One and two stars

 

Oh my God I hated these books so much. De Thuiskomst (The Homecoming) a little less, as I gave it two stars. I didn’t necessarily hate that one, it was just badly written, boring and at least half of it was unnecessary. Publiek Geheim (Public Secret) was also really boring and I didn’t enjoy the writing style at all. The premise was really interesting and I expected a lot more from it. Ik Ook van Jou (I Love You Too) was basically 99% sex. Apparently that was a lot more important than the plot.

All in all 2014 was a great year! Out of the 53 books, only three of them have gotten one or two stars! And 22 5-star books! Wow. I hope 2015 will be just as great, if not greater.

What were your favourites this year and which books did you absolutely loathe?

– The Writing Hufflepuff

 

 

11 thoughts on “Best and Worst Books of 2014

  1. It wasn’t a terribly bad book, but James Dashner’s The Scorch Trials left me fuming. The romance was EUGH, what with two-dimensional Brenda throwing herself at two-dimensional Thomas, and then Thomas being super annoying about her and Teresa. :-/ (Having said that, I’ll probably still read The Death Cure.)

    I’m really interested to read The School of Good and Evil! The cover kind of reminds me of…the webcomic Nimona? :-)

    • I haven’t heard of Nimona, is it good? You should definitely read The School for Good and Evil! It’s so good!

      And I know what you mean with The Scorch Trials. I still enjoyed it, but Brenda and Thomas were so annoying! Not to mention that there was no point. Brenda was just introduced so that there’s a love triangle.

  2. I’m so glad that this year provided a helluva lot more Great books than really bad ones! So many titles in the Best section I look forward to reading, and I’ve read five of those books (The Picture of Dorian Gray is fabulous). :D

  3. A lot of the books I loved this year are the obvious ones, like Heir of Fire which was amazing. I also finally discovered the Percy Jackson books which i was obsessed with over the summer.

    Here werent actually that many books i hated though! The Virgin Suicides I though was completely dull, and lacking in substance, although a lot of people seemed to love it. I also tried to read the Programme but got so bored i gave up.

    Im glad you had a good reading year! Are you trying to beat 53 books next year? :P

  4. The Book Thief was probably my second favorite, too! Obviously my first was A Monster Calls. However I only rated 10 books 5 stars (not including my 26 rereads.).

  5. I love Percy Jackson and Mortal Instruments. I’m still a coward when it comes to the Book Thief. I might have to break down and try it though. Maybe the movie first because books are always more emotional.

    Yikes on your bad reads! I don’t care for books that have lots of sex either, there’s only so much skimming I can do.

    I only had one two star review, the one where I interviewed the author and was part of a tour for…

    • The Book Thief is beautiful and definitely worth it! And yep, I skim so much when there are a lot (and disgusting!) sex scenes.

      One two star review in a whole year- that’s awesome! A bit awkward that you interviewed the author when you didn’t like the book though, haha!

Send an owl

