The Heroine Tag

Thank you All Things Wordy for tagging me to do The Heroine Tag. Below are ten questions (ten, right? If they’re are more or less, please ignore this. Counting has never been my strong point), to which I should answer with a heroine’s name. I’m going to try to not pick Hermione for all of them (the positive ones, naturally). I am, really.

Which heroine would you trade places with?

Hermione Granger. I’m trying I swear.

Come on, how can I not? No wait, if I switched places with her, I’d wouldn’t be able to be friends with her… Alright, I’d switch places with an unnamed Hogwarts student, that way I’d be able to go to Hogwarts, be friends with Hermione (and all the others of course) and do magic. Problem solved.

Which heroine would you push off a cliff while hoping that there are some jagged rocks at the bottom?

Funnily enough no one comes to mind straight away, which means there isn’t a heroine I hate that much. Or maybe I’m just a sweet person.

Me too, Jasmine, me too.

After going through the latests books I’ve read on Goodreads, I’ve realized that I’m not such a sweet person after all (something Jasmine and I already knew). The heroine I’d push off a cliff is…

Lauren from the series Wings by Aprilynne Pike. I didn’t even like the first book (Wings) because of Laurel (also because of what’s-his-face, oh yeah, Tamani, thanks Goodreads). I never even finished this series and I’m not planning to, even though I remember really enjoying Illusions. I just don’t feel the need. And again, I didn’t really like Laurel, even though she grew on me. I wish I could give you solid reasons on why I want to push her off a cliff, but I don’t remember!

A heroine you couldn’t care less about? (They’re so bland that they don’t even trigger the hate in you.)

Bella Swan.

Sorry Twilight fans, don’t take this the wrong way. I was one of you, sort of, once. I kind of liked Twilight, hated New Moon, Eclipse was boring and don’t get me started on Breaking Dawn.

Bella was the first heroine that popped up in my head when I read ‘bland’. Again, don’t take this the wrong way.

A heroine you thought you wouldn’t like but ending up liking, and vice versa?

Thought I wouldn’t like, but ended up liking: Clary Fray.

I’m sorry Clary, I love you now. I came to love you very quickly, I promise. It probably also has to do with the fact that I wasn’t sure whether I was going to like TMI, which I guess affected my like/dislike for Clary. I was just a bit annoyed at her during the first (few?) chapters.

Also: Sophie from The School for Good and Evil.

Maybe I shouldn’t, but she’s my baby (after Agatha) don’t hurt her.

Thought I would like, but ended up disliking: Isla from Isla and The Happily Ever After. It’s not really that I dislike or even hate her, it’s more that I thought I would love her, and since I didn’t that was a bit of a disappointment.

A side heroine who is much more interesting than the main heroine?

Anna and Lola in Isla and The Happily Ever After. Honestly, after their cameos, I really didn’t care anymore what happened to Isla. Especially after what happened to Anna. Don’t worry, I won’t spoil you guys. I’m just going to leave you with this gif:

Which heroine would you want as your friend?

Hermione Granger. Wait, does a heroine have to be a protagonist.

David Tennant has spoken.

Also, Annabeth Chase. One day I’ll make a post dedicated to all my wonderful fictional friends.

 

Which heroine do you wish would just CHOOSE between the guys in her little love triangle?

Again Bella Swan I guess. And Laurel from Wings. Of course they have chosen by now (and I’m not amused by Laurel’s choice, another reason why I haven’t read Destined yet and probably never will), but back then I was seriously annoyed.

A “bad girl” heroine?

Celaena Sardothien.

I’m not ashamed to tell you guys I had to Google how to spell her name. It’s a difficult name, okay?

A “good girl” heroine?

Hermione Granger once again. If she breaks the rules, it’s for a good cause. If she talks back to a teacher, it’s for a good reason. Hermione is bad ass and not perfect, but I do think she falls under this category.

Your favourite heroine of them all? (If you can’t choose, pick your top three.)

Obviously I’m going with a top three.

1. Hermione Granger
2. Annabeth Chase
3. Alexia Tarabotti (first time I actually mentioned her in this post, but she needs to be named. I love this woman so much)

It’s time for me to tag some people. Except I won’t, because I need to finish an assignment and write more blogposts to schedule for the next two weeks (test week guys!). So I tag everyone who wants to do this!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

8 thoughts on “The Heroine Tag

  1. Hermione Granger is the ultimate heroine, haha. I think that a lot of the female characters in Harry Potter- Luna Lovegood, Ginny Weasley, Molly Weasley, Professor McGonagall, etc.- are awesome heroines. J.K. Rowling really knows how to write them! Great tag! :)

  2. Man, I didn’t think of Bella Swan for the bland question and the love triangle! Wow. Haha, glad you chose to do the tag! :D

  3. This post was so much fun! I laughed a lot at the gifs and the Hermione quips, but I mean, HERMIONE IS AWESOME. So how could anyone not pick her? :)

    These questions are actually really hard for me to answer, so many options! But the heroine I would push off a cliff would definitely be Zoey Redbird from the House of Night series or Nora from the Hush Hush series. Both were extremely annoying, hypocritical characters. Those are hours of my life I will never get back!

Send an owl

