Beautiful People || Author Edition

beautifulpeople

Beautiful People is a linkup hosted by Paper Fury and Further Up and Further where writers answer questions about their books/characters.

This month’s Beautiful People focusses on the authors instead of the books. Here are the questions:

Q U E S T I O N S

1. How many years have you been writing? When did you officially consider yourself a ‘writer’?

I have been making up stories as long as I can remember. I don’t know the exact age I started to actually write them down, but I wrote my first book when I was nine/ten years old. That’s also when I started to really consider myself a writer I guess.

2. How/why did you start writing?

I honestly can’t remember! I know that the book mentioned above isn’t the first thing I wrote down, just the first real book. Before that there were countless of (mostly unfinished) stories. I just loved making up stories inside my head, and I think I started to write them down because I didn’t want to forget them. That is still one of the reasons I write now.

3. What’s your favorite part of writing?

Just watching the stories inside my head come to life. That sounds like I’m not the one making them come to life, but I think you understand what I mean.

4. What’s your biggest writing struggle?

Self doubt. Not a very original response to this question, but it definitely is.

5. Do you write best at night or day?

It really depends. Sometimes I have great inspiration during the day and then I’m done and tired in the evening so I stop. Sometimes I’m tired during the day and get adrenaline and inspiration in the evening.

6. What does your writing space look like? (Feel free to show us pictures!)

Let me search for some pictures on my laptop since I’m too lazy to get up (not to mention my desk is a bit messy). Unfortunately I can’t find any. I’ll show you guys someday. I usually write at my desk, where I have a cork board on the wall with some inspiring quotes and David Tennant telling me that I should be writing. I always have my notebook on the desk as well and of course my laptop. My playlist for The Chosen Ones will be playing in the background.

7. How long does it typically take you to write a complete draft?

I wish I could tell you guys that it doesn’t take me that long, but I can’t. Life gets in the way too often, not to mention I tend to overwork myself when it comes to school so I’m exhausted a lot during the schoolyear. I hope to write more this year and finish the second draft of The Army of Quermo. I don’t remember how long the first draft took me, but it was over a year.

8. How many projects do you work on at once?

One. I used to work at ten or so different stories at once, and it wasn’t working. At all. These stories still live inside me and one day I will rewrite them and finish them, but not right now. I’m going to focus on The Chosen Ones.

9. Do you prefer writing happy endings, sad ones, or somewhere in between?

Somewhere in between I think? I don’t know, it really depends on the book.

10. List a few authors who’ve influenced your writing journey.

J.K Rowling, Rick Riordan and Anne West.

11. Do you let people read your writing? Why or why not?

Sort of? When I finished the first draft of The Army of Quermo I let my then best friend read it and my mom. I think I also let my brother (from another mother. Sorry I couldn’t resist) read it, but I’m not sure. He did read this short story I once wrote for art. I was super nervous about that, but I wanted to make sure there weren’t any mistakes and an opinion.

My mom has read the new prologue for The Army of Quermo, but that’s it. I don’t like people reading my unfinished work.

12. What’s your ultimate writing goal or dream?

Find my own books at the bookstore. My books making people happy and feel better. And just so many more.

13. If you didn’t write, what would you want to do?

Ever since I can remember I’ve had two dream jobs: journalist and author You can’t just become an author, sadly, so for now I’m going to try and become a journalist. I’ve always wanted to work for a magazine or newspaper, so I guess if I didn’t write (fiction) I’d still write, haha.

14. Do you have a book you’d like to write one day but don’t feel you’re ready to attempt it yet?

Yes! I have a series planned that revolves around time travel, but that will require a lot of research and I just don’t have the time for that.

15. Which story has your heart and won’t let go?

Besides The Chosen Ones, the first book I ever wrote (mentioned in question 1). I plan on rewriting it one day. I just loved writing it and I miss the characters.

Alright, that was this month’s Beautiful People! It was a lot of fun and if you’re a writer I recommend you to do it! If you’ve already done it, let me know so I can read your answers!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

4 thoughts on “Beautiful People || Author Edition

  1. Oh, this was so fun to read! I love these questions a lot. Self-doubt is a biggie isn’t it? But hey, if it’s something we all have it musn’t be that much of a biggie, right?

  2. Characters coming to life is the best part of writing. The moment where everything clicks :)
    HAHA SAME. I used to juggle with over seven project running back and forth, but nowadays I just store the idea in a separate file and then come back to it later.

Send an owl

