Review: The Bane Chronicles

Genre: Young adult | fantasy
Series: Shadowhunters Chronicles
Goodreads rating: 4.22
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

Originally released one-by-one as e-only short stories by Cassandra Clare, Maureen Johnson, and Sarah Rees Brennan, this compilation presents all ten together in print for the first time and includes a never-before-seen eleventh tale, as well as new illustrated material (Goodreads).

review

I finished The Bane Chronicles last week, so my memory might be a bit fuzzy!

If you’re a fan of TMI and TID and you love Magnus than this book is perfect. It’s sassy and funny and sweet and fabulous and sparkly and just Magnus. The book contains 11 stories and of course I love some more than others, but they’re all enjoyable. I’ll talk about every one of them briefly:

What Really Happened in Peru
You may remember that Magnus is banned in Peru, but why? That’s what this story is about, but what I loved about this story is the relationship between Magnus, Ragnor Fell and Catharina Loss. I want an entire series about these three. Ragnor and Magnus are the complete opposites of each other yet they’re the best of friends and Catharina is such a sweetheart and all their adventures together and and… where is my series about these fabulous three?

The Runaway Queen
This one takes place in France during the French revolution. I love the French revolution and I love Magnus, so what’s not to love? As it takes place during the French revolution you may have already guessed that The Runaway Queen is Marie Antoinette. Magnus helps her and the royal family escape during the Night of Varennes and I have now accepted that the events of this story really happened.

Vampires, Scones and Edmund Herondale
Magnus meets Will’s father and we see the beginning of Magnus’ relationship with Camille and the beginning of the accords. I just loved reading about the accords, seeing some familiar faces from TID, Edmund and Magnus short bromance… This one is definitely one of my favourites, but I can’t go into it too much without giving too much away.

The Midnight Heir
Another one of my favourites, as we meet James Herondale and see Tessa, Will and Jem again! How can I not love this story? This story also sets up the plot for The Last Hours, so now I definitely can’t wait for Chain of Gold! How am I supposed to wait? Again, I can’t go into too much of this one.

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort
This is probably my least favourite one. It takes place during the Roaring Twenties (Magnus during this time is just in one word fabulous), but the plot itself I found a bit uninteresting. It tells of what happened at Hotel Dumort before the vampires turned it into their home, which I suppose is interesting but it felt lacking.

Saving Raphael Santiago
Saving Raphael Santiago tells how Magnus and Raphael met and how Magnus helped Raphael to deal with his new vampirism.
During TMI I didn’t hate Raphael but didn’t really like him either. This definitely changed after reading Saving Raphael Santiago. I now absolutely love Raphael. His sarcasm is just so much fun to read and his relationship with Magnus and definitely with Ragnor is brilliant. I wish I could have read more of him being BFFs with Ragnor.

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort
The vampires of New York get addicted to drug addicts. I really felt for Magnus in this one, and of course Magnus himself was fun to read about, but the story itself was one of my least favourites. It was a bit too predictable and I didn’t really feel invested in the story.

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway)
Definitely one of my favourites again. I mean: Malec! First we meet this adorable demon (actually he is gross and annoying according to Magnus, but I found the way Cassandra Jean drew him really cute and instead of annoying I found him funny. Though if I had to be stuck with him for an entire day with him getting slime everywhere in my home… I suppose I’d agree with Magnus). Then we get some Izzy and Magnus interaction which was perfect and then Alec himself arrived. Also Ragnor and Catharina again! This story was just so funny and cute; it was perfect.

The Last Stand of the New York Institute
The Circle is in New York and reminded me of why I hated Valentine so much. I did love reading about the Circle in action, as they were already disbanded by the time of TMI. There was also a pleasant surprise at the end of the story, but I won’t tell you what happens of course.

The Course of True Love (And First Dates)
Magnus and Alec go on their first date and I just sadghsagkj.

155

This gif sums up this entire story for me. Just read it. Read it noooow. Alec is such a cutie and their love is beautiful and just <3

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane
This isn’t really a story, but a collection of hilarious voicemail messages left for Magnus after Malec broke up. During City of Heavenly Fire I wondered what everyone had left on Magnus’ voicemail and now I know!

I loved reading about the beginning of Malec, as we didn’t know much about that in TMI. I didn’t think it was possible for me to ship Malec even more, but apparently it was!

Cassandra Jean’s drawings really completed the book. It just made it so much more fun! Here are some of my favourites that don’t spoil too much (you can also see the cute demon. What do you guys think?):

Long story short, if you haven’t read The Bane Chronicles yet, go do that now! If you have read it, did you love it as much as I did?

signature

8 thoughts on “Review: The Bane Chronicles

  1. I am an incredibly big fan of The Mortal Instruments, and I particularly loved Magnus’s character and I want to know more about him! I really want to read this.

  2. I just got this (:
    I always loved Raphael, he’s like my favorite character from the series along with Magnus, Izzy and Simon but I just read the short story about him (in ebook) and that made me love him so much more, I love his sass, and his relationship with Magnus because they’re really so similar; I miss that kid 💕😭

  3. […] Apparently I read this this year! Boy, does time fly. I thought it was last year. I didn’t love all the stories equally, but they all amused me greatly (I mean, it’s Magnus Bane, how can stories about him not amuse me?). I loved finding out more about Magnus and the people surrounding him. And you know, MALEC’S FIRST DATE. Also I really want more short stories about Magnus, Catharina and Ragnor. I want an entire book about them. Perfect Warlock Squad. Read my review here. […]

Send an owl

