Review: The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

theintern

Genre: Young adult | contemporary
Series: The Intern #1
Goodreads rating: 3.73
My rating: ★★★

summary

Josie Browning dreams of having it all. A stellar academic record, an amazing career in journalism – and for her current crush to realise she actually exists. The only problem? Josie can’t get through twenty-four hours without embarrassing her sister Kat or her best friend Angel, let alone herself. Josie’s luck changes though when she lands an internship at the glossy fashion magazine Sash. A coveted columnist job is up for grabs, but Josie’s got some tough competition in the form of two other interns. Battle lines are drawn and Josie quickly learns that the magazine industry is far from easy, especially under the reign of powerful editor, Rae Swanson. From the lows of coffee-fetching and working 10-hour days, to the highs of mingling with celebrities, scoring endless free beauty products (plus falling for her cousin’s seriously gorgeous flatmate James) this is one year Josie will never forget. Totally fresh and funny, this debut novel from industry insider Gabrielle Tozer reveals just what is behind the seeming glamour and sparkle of the magazine industry.

review

Oh this book was such a disappointment. I was so excited to read this. I thought I would be able to relate to Josie, being clumsy, awkward and an aspiring journalist. I thought this book would blow me away, make me laugh out loud and leave me with a stupid grin on my face. I thought this book would make me unable to wait to start studying journalism myself (okay, I already can’t wait, but that’s beside the point).

Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoyed it. I mean, I gave it three stars didn’t I? I do wonder how I would’ve felt about the book if I hadn’t had such high expectations, though I don’t think my rating would have been higher.

See, the characters are flat and it’s full of cliches. The editor in chief? A coldhearted bitch. Why? Why is the editor in chief always mean, especially towards the intern? There was one moment where I thought she would turn out to be more than the feared editor, that she would be human, but nope. She showed some emotion, but the author didn’t do anything with that. Just like the author  didn’t explain why Josie’s father left. Throughout the entire book I expected the father to turn up and give the readers an explanation, but that didn’t happen.

Then there were two other interns and of course one of them, Ava, was mean to the other two, for no apparent reason. Then when she does something really mean, she just brushes it off as, well, revenge. No, no, no, no. You were mean to Josie before that happened, and Josie was just showing concern. This part probably doesn’t make much sense if you haven’t read the book, but since what Ava did and why are pretty big parts of the book, I don’t want to give it away.

And of course, there is your typical celebrity jerk who messes things up. I swear at that point I just couldn’t handle the cliches anymore!

Then there’s the love interest. When we first meet him I thought he was cute and funny and I liked him and Josie together, but by the end I really didn’t care anymore if they ended up together or not. He hardly had any personality and his only flaw seemed to be that he was unavailable because of his girlfriend. Uh? Seriously? I also didn’t see the chemistry between him and Josie that I saw at the beginning anymore by the end, which was a shame.

Josie’s home life is kind of a mess, but this doesn’t really get solved either. I know, I know, there’s a sequel, but I did expect some closure and maybe more personality for her mom and sister? Also, her best friend Angel whom we hardly know anything about? Angel complains that Josie hasn’t been much of a friend to her lately, Josie agrees, but in the end, she’s still not that much of a friend. Angel tells her that she has dropped out of college, with no lead up to this, as she hardly appears and when she does, we still don’t find out much about her, because it’s always about Josie.

And remember how I said I thought I’d be able to relate to Josie? Nope, nope, nope. I did not relate to her awkwardness or clumsiness, not like I related to Cath being awkward in Fangirl. The only thing Josie and I had in common is our passion for writing and journalism. And oh my gods how stupid and dense are you? HMM I WONDER WHAT IS WRONG WITH AVA. Spoiler is in white text, so if you want to read it, select it: We never see her eat and then she throws up… Hmm… Maybe, I dunno, she has an eating disorderOh and when Ava does the mean thing mentioned above and Josie completely falls for it… Josie, come on. That part was just infuriating to read. I almost wanted to close the book and not read further, because I just knew what was going to happen.

Now, you might think, Michelle, this doesn’t sound like you enjoyed the book at all! It doesn’t, does it? Even though the characters were flat, it was full of cliches and things were left unresolved, it was still a fun read. Really, it was. The above rant is just the result of my disappointment of wanting this book to be so much more. It was fun to read about the world of magazines. Were some things a bit over the top? Sure, but not too much. I did have some chuckles. The love interest was at least a sweet guy, even though he had no flaws. Maybe that’s because Josie doesn’t even know him that well and we’ll find out his flaws in the sequel? (which I will read one day). There was a happy ending and no one died, and after having reread Deathly Hallows before this, that was nice haha. The thing is I just, like I’ve said before, had high expectations that were sadly not met. I think I would enjoy this a lot more as a film, as for some odd reason I don’t mind cliches in films.

Do I recommend this book? Yes, just don’t expect too much from it.

signature

4 thoughts on “Review: The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer

Send an owl

