Holidays, Book Haul and Questions

Can we take a moment to celebrate that I have a week off from school?

I don’t even care that I have to do quite a bit for school and want to start studying for the test week (which is still a few weeks away, but I don’t want to make the same mistake as last time and it’s a lot. Damn, it took me way longer than it should have to write that sentence. Tyler, Dylan and Holland kept distracting me haha). It’s still a week of no school, getting out of bed when I want and having plenty of time to read and write. Which also means I’ll have time to schedule quite a few posts in advance. I don’t know if I’ll blog more this week, I’ll most likely save them for the coming weeks.

Now, you might be here because you read ‘BOOK HAUL’ and got all excited because who doesn’t like books? Well there are people who don’t, apparently, but let’s not talk about them.

Oh wait, this is just me.

IMG_2594

I recently got my report card, which meant getting books from my mom and grandfather! This of course meant a trip to the bookstore, where I couldn’t help also treating myself. So I bought me The Red Pyramid and The Serpent’s Shadow, as I already owned Throne of Fire. So now I can binge read the series! Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s Blade I got from my mom and grandfather. I will probably start Heir of Fire tonight as I can’t wait. I finished Crown of Midnight last Tuesday (review will be up on Monday) and was left in a huge book hangover, so I really need to start Heir of Fire, even though it will probably leave me in an even bigger one.

Now, on to the questions part! Recently I started thinking about hosting some kind of Book Awards (inspired by the Oscars). I thought it’d be fun for you all to nominate books (not necessarily published in 2014, just the best books ever), characters, ships (whether it’s romantic, friendship, family etc.), funniest moment etc. I think the nominating will last for a month, and then I’ll choose five or so for every category that has been nominated the most times. After that for a few months I’ll promote every nominee on my blog (maybe with guest posts?) on why you should vote for them. At the end of it all, the winners will be announced. So here are my questions:

1. Do you think that would be a fun idea?
2. Would you nominate?
3. Would you be interested in doing a guest post on a certain nominee? (or several). This would be especially helpful if I don’t know the book/character/etc.

Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

 

17 thoughts on “Holidays, Book Haul and Questions

  1. Yep, yep, yep. A thing where I get to legitimately promote my fave books/ships/whatevers? I AM 100% IN FOR THIS. (Joking aside, I really like the idea of a book awards thing. I’d happily vote, nominate, and write about nominees if it goes ahead. :-) )

Send an owl

