Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

CrownOfMidnight

Genre: Young adult | high fantasy
Series: Throne of Glass #2
Goodreads rating: 4.52
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

“A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend.”

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie…and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for (Goodreads).

review

Crown of Midnight… How do I begin to explain Crown of Midnight? Crown of Midnight is flawless. I heard it’s insured for $10.000. I hear it has a book trailer… on Youtube. It’s a favourite of many bookworms. One time it met a lot of book bloggers. And they told it it was awesome. One time it fell of my shelf in my face… it was awesome.

Cookies if you got that reference! But seriously, Crown of Midnight really is flawless. I even thought about not reviewing it, because how? How do I convince you guys of it’s awesomeness, without giving everything away and how do I find the right words?

I gave Throne of Glass five stars, yet Crown of Midnight is better. Do you see my problem? The plot was just as interesting, but there were so many more mysteries and plot twists and the shipping and just everything. Here are some gifs to sum up my reading experience:

155

72

62

 

I don’t know how Sarah does it, but while I shipped Celeana with one person in Throne of Glass, I started shipping her with the other in Crown of Midnight. Also, I didn’t know it was possible for Celeana to become even more bad ass and flawless (okay, she has flaws, but ssssh), but it was. As I’m typing this Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s Blade are begging me to read them, and I’ll soon oblige. When you’re reading this, it is likely I have already finished one of them (if not both).

Seriously, I don’t know how to review this book! It was just perfect and left me with the biggest book hangover I’ve had in a while and just empty yet full at the same time. I’m just going to leave you with a ‘READ IT, READ IT NOW’. You won’t regret it, especially if you loved Throne of Glass. Just be prepared of the feels.

If you were looking for a detailed review, look further haha.

signature

9 thoughts on “Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I wasn’t enthralled by Throne of Glass. I felt it was too slow – does Crown of Midnight move things along? Does Caelena actually *do* anything besides crushing over her two male buddies? I want to like this series…I just don’t know if I should give Crown of Midnight a chance.

    Something tells me you might not be the best person to ask though! 😉

    • Haha I’m quite biased 😂 She does stop crushing on one of them, so it’s no longer a love triangle. Maybe you could borrow it from a library to see if you like it? That way you won’t waste money if you don’t like it :)

      • Luckily the book is pretty cheap on Amazon – it’s not the cost that bothers me, moreso the time investment. I’ll put it on my TBR list and think about it…seems there are lots of positive reviews for this series – I wouldn’t want to miss out something just because I had a bad relationship with the first novel!

      • I understand that- it happened too many times that I wasted time on a bad book which I could’ve spent on a better one! You might still like Crown of Midnight though, I thought it was better than Throne of Glass.

Send an owl

