Dutch Comic Con 2015

The first edition of Dutch Comic Con was this weekend. Because of my aunt’s birthday we went yesterday and now I’m exhausted. If you follow me on Twitter and/or Instagram you might have seen some pictures already.

It was a lot of fun and I think it was a great first edition. I can’t wait till next year, but let’s talk about this year’s edition first, shall we?

Getting ready!

My mom and I got up early and with the clock going forward an hour, it felt even earlier! Of course I dressed up as a Hufflepuff, my mom wore my panda clip on ears haha. We met up with my cousin at the station and then we were on our way to DCC!

On the bus!

As soon as we got off the train we were almost immediately blown away. The weather wasn’t that great, but luckily we’d be inside all day long. I was a bit disappointed to not find a gigantic group of cosplayers marching towards the hall, but I suppose most people were either already inside (as we arrived about half an hour after opening hours) or would change inside.

Once we were inside we saw the first Stormtrooper though!

My cousin and mom with said Stormtrooper

When we entered the hall we were immediately greeted by the Bat Mobile and the Ecto 1 from Ghostbusters. Stepping inside the hall immediately felt like entering another world haha.

WHO YOU GONNA CALL?

Behind the Ghostbusters stand there was some horror circus or something, but we weren’t really interested in that. I’m not a big fan of clowns, and if it’s a horror circus… Well, I really don’t want to run into a crazy clown with a saw or something! *shudders*

My cousin did find her ideal man though:

Only downside is that I had accidentally avada kedavra’d him- oops!

Inside the first hall there were famous cars (like the before mentioned ones, but also the DeLorean from Back to the Future. Luigi from Cars was supposed to be there, but we couldn’t find him anywhere so it was probably cancelled), a game section (where was my Pokémon though? Maybe I missed it, as it was really busy!), some stands that sold comics, you could get a tattoo, the autograph and photo section and the stand from my favourite bookstore, the American Book Center.

I’m pointing at the sign, not hexing that poor guy, haha!

I loved how their stand was in the same style as their store. See, what’s so amazing about their interior is that there’s a tree in the middle of the store. Having a tree at DCC and all the cute little trunks too sit at was just plain awesome.

The next hall is were most of the stands were. It was incredibly busy, but thankfully the paths were really wide so there was enough room! I had a mission to find an Alice Pop!Vinyl, but sadly she was sold out everywhere on Saturday! I did get some others that I love though!

I’ve been to cons before, but those were either anime based or Japan based, so going to a con where I can buy both for example Harry Potter and Doctor Who stuff and cute alpaca’s (I FINALLY GOT ONE) = perfection.

Is anyone else reminded of Chandler’s ‘gum would be pefection’?

Moving on. There were a lot of diverse stands (though there were quite a few that only sold comics, but hey, it is comic con, even though it’s not all about comics anymore). You couldn’t only buy stuff (though there was a lot, and there had been even more the previous day we had been told!), you could also be drawn as a caricature or as a manga character, get your nails done or have a professional makeup artist make you look like you’re injured (maybe he did other things too but I only saw the injuries).

Ever since I found out about DCC last summer I started saving money so that I could buy a lot, and I sure am happy with my purchases!

  • I’ve wanted an alpaca for years, but whenever I found a website that sold them they were already sold out! So when we spotted someone carrying one around I started my hunt haha! It’s so adorable I can’t stop cuddlying with it.

  • I also found alpaca earmuffs! The cold weather is almost over, but who cares?! The cold weather will return and I will wear them (until it’s so cold I’ll need a hat instead)
  • I’ve now got a full Pokémon team (I already had Pikachu, Psyduck, Piplup and Oshawott) with Bulbasaur and Mudkip!

  • How could I resist that cute Winnie the Pooh?? I already own a Winnie the Pooh but one can never have too many Winnies
  • These cute Rilakkuma and Little Twin Stars contact cases are much cuter than the plain ones from the optician I owned!
  • I’m already wearing my new Harry Potter shirt and loving it!
  • TOTORO TIGHTS
  • I got the wallet in a goodie bag (along with some stickers and a doll that I wasn’t really interested in so I gave it away) that I got for free at the stand where I bought the alpaca earmuffs, the contact cases, the tights and Mudkip. I don’t know if everyone was allowed to pick out a goodie bag for free or only if you spend a certain ammount, but I thought it was a nice gesture! Besides, it’s Kiiroitori!

Simba, Cinderella, Bambi, Elsa and Anna!

And here are my Pop! Vinyls! Even though I was unable to find Alice, I really love the ones I did get my hands on! ♥

While looking around we found the TARDIS and of course I had to take a picture with it!

There were Q&A’s all day long at the podium. We only attended Giancarlo Esposito’s (I’m still impressed they managed to get such a big star for a first edition!) as my cousin and I are big fans of Once Upon a Time, but since they mostly talked about Breaking Bad we decided to not listen to the entire thing. We had no idea what they were talking about after all, haha! He did shortly talk about being Regina’s right hand and how he loved playing two characters on the show. He also briefly talked about The Scorch Trials!!

I tried to take a picture of him, but the lightning wasn’t in my favor as he looks like a ghost. I won’t be sharing my picture with you guys as you can’t even recognize him haha!

There was also a cosplay competition at the stage, but we didn’t watch. There were a lot of great cosplayers though! I took pictures with some of them (I was often too shy to ask or they were already gone!).
I ran into a few fellow Potterheads, which was awesome of course! Two of them were Hufflepuffs too! Sadly I didn’t take pictures with them, but I did fist bump with one of them.

Now on to some more pictures!

The Joker at seeing my wand: Oh I see someone’s very WANTING. I know you WANT to.

A wild Titan appeared! I haven’t seen Attack on Titan. I did think about it, but I chickened out ^^’ I’m not even that easily scared, but for some reason those titans freak me out. Have any of you seen it?

This guy was amazing. He even ran like Captain Jack Sparrow!

With my alpaca!

And that was our day at Dutch Comic Con! Like I said before, I had so much fun! There was a great atmosphere, both the buyers and all the cosplayers were friendly and nice to chat with. there was plenty to do and to buy… I just can’t wait for next year!

Did any of you go? Did you have fun? Or if you ever went to a different con tell me about it! :D And do any of you cosplay? (I’m starting to sound very nosy haha)

– The Writing Hufflepuff

Ps. I will announce the nominees for The Book Awards tomorrow!

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Dutch Comic Con 2015

  1. This looks like so much fun! :) Snap on the Totoro tights – I actually bought a pair that look almost exactly like yours at the last event I went to. (My friend got an Alpaca which I nicknamed Alan at the same time. THEY ARE JUST SO DARN CUUUTTTE.)

  2. That must have been SO MUCH FUN! :D I haven’t been to a Comic Con before, and I’d love to go someday.

    Was the Gandalf cosplayer impressed that you knew how to wield a magic wand? *lol*

  3. I honestly can’t believe I didn’t know there was a Dutch Comic Con. I MUST GO NEXT YEAR. This looks so awesome, and I love the goodies you got! I would love to browse all the stands

  4. There was a Cosplay competition on stage? Those cars must have been awesome to see up close. Glad you got so much cool stuff. Great pics. And clowns are scary!

Send an owl

