Review: Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

As promised, my reviews for Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas in one post. Bear with me as I finished Heir of Fire about a month ago and my memory is a bit fuzzy. Therefore I decided to make a list of things I liked and didn’t like (’cause who doesn’t like lists? I mean, LISTS).

Warning: Spoilers ahead if you haven’t read Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight yet!

Heir of Fire

Genre: Young adult | high fantasy
Series: Throne of Glass #3
Goodreads rating: 4.59
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? (Goodreads)

Whatiliked

  • All the different pov’s so that we got to know the characters better
  • Celaena’s character development
  • The new characters, especially Aedion
  • Finding out more about the world and it’s history
  • Finding out how magic disappeared
  • The fast paced plot (or at least in all the pov’s except Manon- see next list)
  • Finding out more about Celaena’s past
  • The bromance between Celaena and Rowan
  • Chaol and Dorian’s development since Throne of Glass
  • Manon showing how badass she is
  • The demi fae
  • SO MUCH TENSION
  • THE FEELS
  • And a lot more but my memory is failing me

whatididn'tlike

  • Manon’s pov. Don’t get me wrong. I loved Manon and her story, but the pace was just a lot slower than in the other parts. I couldn’t stop reading until I reached her pov.
  • THE FEELS (let’s face it. We all have a love and hate relationship with feels)
  • THE ENDING. 1) YOU CAN’T DO THAT TO A CERTAIN CHARACTER 2) YOU CAN’T END IT LIKE THAT

I rated this book five stars and I won’t change my mind on that, but I do feel like Crown of Midnight was slightly better. It’s probably still my favourite in the series, even though I really loved Heir of Fire. It was just a slower read (mainly because of Manon’s pov). As you can see though, my list of things I didn’t like is really short and the second one doesn’t even really count. Nor does the last one, as I kind of loved it too (not that I like seeing my babies getting hurt).

Now on to The Assassin’s Blade!

The Assassin’s Blade

Genre: Young adult | high fantasy
Series: Throne of Glass #0.5
Goodreads rating: 4.53
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan’s most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin’s Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas – together in one edition for the first time – Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn’s orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out. (Goodreads)

review

The problem I had with this book (and it’s a minor one as I rated it four stars) is that because they’re short stories, the moment that it get’s exciting it’s almost over already. You know that when you start a book, you often have to get into it before you fall in love? That’s what happened to me five times in this book, as there are five stories. This is why it took me a while to finish (also school), even though I loved the book. It had everything the other books had (though a bit slower, because they’re short stories) plus all the answers I’ve been craving.

So this book contains five short stories: The Assassin and the Pirate Lord, The Assassin and the Healer, The Assassin and the Desert, The Assassin and the Underworld and The Assassin and the Empire.

The last one is my favourite and least favourite at the same time. It’s brilliantly written but also tores your heart out even before it happens. If you’ve read the books you already know what’s going to happen, which makes it even worse. I was already crying when I started the story because shit was going to go down and I didn’t like it. Damnit was this one painful to read! I wanted to stop and continue at the same time. I swear be warned of terrible, terrible heartache during and after this one.

My least favourite one was The Assassin and the Healer. It didn’t really have anything to do with the overall plot and I felt like it didn’t really add anything. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good story and through every one of these stories, including this one, we get to know Celaena better and better, but it just felt off. I doubt it was in there for no reason at all, so I’m sure we’ll see more of Yrene in the future.

Now for the lists (I quite liked doing that so here we go again!)

Whatiliked

  • Sam (isn’t it cruel how Sarah made us fall in love with a character whose fate we already knew?)
  • Sam and Celaena
  • Just Sam
  • Can you guess I love Sam?
  • Having all our questions answered!
  • New interesting characters that surely will appear in future books
  • Dorian and Chaol’s cameo
  • Seeing more of Erilea (ever since opening Throne of Glass and seeing that map I wanted to know all about the world)
  • Getting to know and understand Celaena better
  • All the stories (except The Healer not so much) leading up to the last one and therefore leading up to the events of Throne of Glass
  • Reading about Celaena’s life at the Assassin’s Keep and reading how badass she is
  • So many characters and plot lines that will likely reappear in future books which makes me EXCITED

whatididn'tlike

  • Arobynn Hamel (he’s an interesting character though and drove the plot along. I can’t wait to see him again in future books. Celeana better kick his ass!)
  • The sometimes slower pace
  • The fact that as soon as it got really exciting it was almost over already

Basically me during these two books:

Basically:

I was going to use a few gifs, but alas. I couldn’t choose.

So have you read these yet? HOW ARE YOU DOING?! Like seriously, I could use Sokka’s therapy session.

signature

11 thoughts on “Review: Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Hi! I am an aspiring new blogger. I literally just started with my blog. I caught a glimpse of Sarah J Maas’s name, and went, hhhhhh! I just finished the throne of glass, and I was so disappointed because I thought there werent any more books! Thanks for bringing these to my attention! And since I’m not sure exactly how this works, r whether you will get my email or anything, here’s my blog URL: abookwormsperfectapple.wordpress.com
    Please visit! Thanks! :-)

  2. Agh! I’m plowing my way through Heir of Fire right now! I love this series incredibly and I’m look I g forward to reading the Assassin’s Blade. I loved your reviews.

  3. I finished Heir Of Fire last month and I felt pretty much the same as you did. I can’t wait for the fourth book to come out so I can find out what happens next to Calaena! I still have to read The Assassin’s Blade though, probably some time soon… Great review! :D

  4. […] Voting: Round 2 of The Book Awards The Reader Problems Tag A Cinderelly Bookhaul Post Exam Blogging Goals The Kane Chronicles Review Creative Blogger Award The Discussing Hufflepuff #2: How Do You Dress Your Characters? The Elite Review Scarlet Review Heir of Fire and The Assassin’s Blade Review […]

Send an owl

