A Cinderelly Bookhaul

This Monday my mom and I went to the centre to do some shopping (read: TO ACQUIRE BEAUTIFUL BOOKS. Spoiler: I’ve succeeded) and to see Cinderella. It was a fun day and I’m really happy with the books I got. Two books are a gift from my mom and grandfather for my hardwork and results after my last testweek. The other two are pats on the back from myself haha.

IMG_2856

So here they are! The Elite by Kiera Cass, The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman, Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I went in looking for Scarlet, as not only is it one of my goals to get up to date with The Lunar Chronicles this year, I haven’t read anything yet for the Fairytale Retelling Challenge, which is terrible. And since I read The Selection this year I decided to read The Elite, as I’d like to finish that series this year too.

I hadn’t heard of The Invisible Library nor of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, but both books caught my eyes (because look at those covers!) and when I read the synopses I knew I had to read them. I mean, the protagonist of The Invisible Library is a spy who works for the Library. This Library harvests fiction from different realities. How cool is that?! Also: alternative London, supernatural creatures, unpredictable magic and secret societies.

I’m aware I already have it. Sssh!

Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library on the other hand involves ‘the coolest library in the world’, or so says James Patterson. The protagonist of this book isn’t a spy, but he gets to spend the night locked in in the library. Isn’t that every bookworms dream?!  The tricky part isn’t getting out of the library though, it’s getting out.

Then it was time to go and see Cinderella, which I definitely recommend. Not only was it like seeing the classic come to live, it was actually better. Don’t get me wrong, I love the original, but I never really felt the romance between Cinderella and the prince, which I’m sure a lot of you can agree with. I mean, they just met and didn’t even talk. I totally shipped them in the film though. Also the actors were brilliant, it was funny, the mice were adorable and I want that dress. Where there things I wish they hadn’t left out? Of course, but I’m not going to be all cranky about that. Just go see it. Trust me.

Have any of you read any of my new precious books? Have you seen Cinderella yet? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

40 thoughts on “A Cinderelly Bookhaul

  1. Great post, as always! :)
    The covers of those books are amazing! Also, now I really want to read The Invisible Library and the other library one!
    I went to see Cinderella yesterday, and I definitely agree with you on the whole romance thing. And OMG DID YOU SEE PRINCE CHARMING’S EYES?!?! SO BLUE IT’S UNBELIEVABLE! (sorry :P)
    What I found, though, was that instead of the sad bits being at the end like in most films, all the sad bits were at the beginning! I still really enjoyed it though!
    xxx

    • YES I DIDN’T NOW IT WAS POSSIBLE TO HAVE SUCH BLUE EYES?! Haha yeah I had teary eyes at those points!

      The Invisible Library and Escape From Mr. Lemoncello’s Library sound really interesting don’t they?!

  2. I saw Cinderella with my family and it is definitely a lovely movie, although I felt as though it was a bit odd or weak at points. As for the books, I’ve read the entire Selection Series by Kiera Kass, but I’ve never seen any of the others. I think I’ve heard of Scarlet, but now I really want to read The Invisible Library. Lovely post, by the way!
    Thanks for reading.
    Best of luck,
    The Time Traveling Writer.

  3. Such pretty books! I have a copy of The Selection series and The Lunar Chronicles waiting for me to be read… (So many awesome looking series waiting to be read, so little time! ;) ) I’ve added the other two to my wishlist; who can say no to books set in a library?!

  4. The Invisible Library sounds SO COOL. Hope you enjoy the rest of your new books!
    Haven’t seen the Cinderella film yet. My cousin wants to because the Frozen short film comes with it.

  5. I saw Cinderella recently too, and I LOVED IT. :) It was really gorgeous. And yes, that dress was really, really beautiful. Nice book haul! The Lunar Chronicles books are great — and even though for some reason Scarlet wasn’t my favourite (the third in the series was actually) it was still a good book. Hope you enjoy!

  6. Cinderella was amazing! It was so beautiful, the costume and set designers did a great job. And I agree they did a better job showing the love connection in the live action than in the animated.

  7. I totally agree with your opinions of Cinderella – I loved it SO MUCH!!!! Watching it, I was literally a bundle of fangirly “I can’t even”s, rocking back and forth. The feels were overwhelming.

Send an owl

