The Reader Problems Tag

Thank you Pavi for tagging me! Go check out her blog!

”You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?”

I pick whatever I’m in the mood for. Basically I look at a book and think: ‘yes, it’s your turn now’. I do hope I’ll never get 20.000 books on my TBR though, the idea alone sounds horrifying!  Can you imagine the pressure, knowing there are 20.000 books waiting for you?

“You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?”

Probably commit, I mean, I’m halfway through already. Who knows, the end might be amazing and make me fall in love with it!

“The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?”

Depends how many books I still need to read! I won’t quit though, I mean, I’m not going to quit reading? And it’s the Christmas holidays, so I’ll have two weeks to read. If I don’t manage to finish the challenge, it won’t be such a big deal though. I’ll be a bit disappointed, but it’s only for fun!

“The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?”

I don’t.

Okay just kidding. I’ll eventually get over it. I mean, by now I’m used and actually kind of fond of my City of Bones copy. It’s a film copy, by the way, and I recently found out there’s another film copy, which I’m not too fond of, so it could’ve been worse. Mine is the one with New York and Idris reflected in the water. It’s actually really pretty, it just bothers me that it doesn’t match with the rest of the series. I like to think that one day all of my series will match.

“Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?”

What am I missing here? Why does everyone like this so much? Thankfully, there’s always someone on the Internet that shares my feelings. It’s nice to read a review that says exactly what I felt, especially when it comes to books everyone loves but me, ’cause otherwise I’ll question my sanity I’ll wonder if I misunderstood something etc.

“You’re reading a book and you’re about start crying in public. How do you deal?”

Sadly I can’t pretend that it’s raining on my face. I mean, who would believe that? So I close the book, take a deep breath and drink some water. Then act casual.

“A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re – read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?”

Alright, slight exaggeration, but I do hate when this happens. I still haven’t read the last two books of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel series, because it’s been so long since I read the first four and I’m afraid I’ve forgotten too much. I’m still debating: to reread or not to reread? That is the question.

“You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?”

I’ve heard so many horror stories of people lending out books and getting them back…destroyed.

Or not getting them back at all.

I don’t even know which is worse. I honestly don’t. Anyway, I completely understand why you wouldn’t want to lend out books. I think I’d honestly explain to them that books are my babies and that I don’t lend them out. I might need them at any given time. I mean, what if I have the sudden urge to reread something and I don’t have it?

“You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?”

Reading slumps are the worse. This usually happens if the book isn’t that exciting, so instead of reading I’ll do something else (e.g. watch tv shows, movies, game, Pinterest… just anything except reading the book). At some point I’ll pick it up again though or I’ll decide to try it again some other time and read a different book.

“There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?”

I’d love to say: ALL OF THEM. But sadly I’m not a billionaire. It really depends, like are they all coming out on the same day or in the same month? If that’s the case I’ll probably only buy the ones that I really can’t wait to read. It really depends though, as they don’t always have them here in The Netherlands (like I’ve been dying to read Prudence, but I haven’t found it yet at the English bookstores here. I think I have to order it…)

“After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?”

Depends on how badly I want to read them. And on how thick they are. I really want to read American Gods by Neil Gaiman, but I’ve put it off for a while now as I want to wait until school’s finished and I have all the time to read it.

Alright, that was The Reader Problem’s Tag! It was a lot of fun, though it reminded me of all the problems we readers have…

As for my nominees:

Sara Letourneau
Avid Reader
Dat Little Blog
Every Book You Need To Read and More
And everyone else who wants to do this!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

21 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. Awesome gifs! The Immortal Nicholas Flamel series is sooo good, but it’s definitely a really detailed one…. if you have time, I would recommend rereading the first four books or finding a thorough summary online. All those little details come together at the end, so it makes the story so much better if you remember them! Great tag!

  2. Thanks for tagging me, Michelle! I’ll definitely do this in the next couple weeks, once I make some progress on a couple high-priority articles. ;)

    I don’t want to give away any of my possible answers… But I can already tell that we have similar habits in some areas. ;)

  3. Your post was the best ever! You totally get me, man. My answers will probably be pretty similar to your, great minds think alike. Thanks for much for tagging us, my cousin and I can’t wait to do this! Although, it might take a few days because we already have some posts we are working on. :)
    -Nikki

  4. This is really random, and I feel really stupid, but how did you get your goodreads reading challenge on your sidebar? I can’t figure out how to do it…

    • Don’t feel stupid! It took me a while too! :) First you go to Goodreads and click on ‘edit your profile’. Under ‘my account’ you see a bunch of options, including ‘widgets’. At the end of that page you’ll find the challenge widget. Copy that code and go to your WordPress widgets. Among those there’s a text widget, where you can paste the code. Mine for some reason doesn’t update automatically (I still have to figure that out), so I copy and paste the code again after a while. Hope that helped! If you have any questions let me know :)

  5. Double gifs within answers haha. These are great. The other answer would be to make them swap my book for something more valuable. Sure, I’ll lend you my books. Can I borrow your credit card haha.

Send an owl

