Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

The_Elite_Cover

Genre: Young adult | dystopian | romance
Series: The Selection #2
Goodreads rating: 4.01
My rating: ★★★★

summary

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away (Goodreads).

review

Going into this book I expected to hate America, as a lot of people do. I don’t know if the hate maybe started in The One instead, because I didn’t end up hating her. Is she the best protagonist in existence? Definitely not, but she isn’t the worse either. Does it get a bit annoying that she can’t choose between Maxon and Aspen (who in my opinion is a manipulative jerk)? Yes. Epic Reads ‘The Elite (with Dolls)’ is very accurate in this: ‘my heart is confused’. Click on the link, please, if you’ve read the book. Because it’s hilarious.

I wish Kiera Cass had ended the love triangle by now, because it felt a bit unnecessary. Aspen is barely in the picture, and it really feels like he’s America’s second choice. Whenever she’s mad at Maxon, she suddenly realizes: ‘Aspen is home’ and then when she talks it out with Maxon she just completely forgets about Aspen.
I know that Aspen himself is necessary to the plot. He’s her first love, he broke her heart, so of course she needs time to get over him and to commit herself to Maxon. If it wasn’t for him, The Selection would’ve been over already. But to have Aspen show up again in the palace and to turn it in the love triangle, seems to add, well, not much.

All in all, it was an enjoyable read. I do feel like not much happened in the book (except some spoilery stuff), but I finished it in one day. Kiera Cass has a nice writing style, so that you can just fly through the book with ease. Maxon is still a cutie and we find out a bit more of his flaws (hallelujah).

How do you guys feel about The Selection’s love triangle? Do you think it’s really necessary for the plot?

signature

13 thoughts on “Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. I couldn’t stand this love triangle. It always seemed like Aspen was America’s security net, where she could fall into if something didn’t work out with Maxon.
    I wish she would have finally decided by the end of The Elite who she really wants to be with.

  2. Bahaha, The Elite with Dolls is HILARIOUS. I completely get why so many people don’t like America… but I didn’t hate her. What I liked about her though was that she had her flaws, but she worked through them. Not as fond here of the love triangle, but I still love this series. Great review!

  3. I think, although I understand America’s hesitanetness, the love triage was drawn out a little too thinly. I do think it’s necessary to the plot, but I wish there was more of a reason than just her indecisiveness. Have fun reading The One and great review!

  4. Great review! :D I totally understand why people dislike America, but I didn’t hate her. She had emotional struggles and confusion to overcome and I can’t begrudge her that much. And yes, Kiera Cass’s writing style is quite smooth I find. I flew through The Elite in less than a day! <3 As for the love triangle, it definitely seemed like America was using Aspen as her safety net, and in the next book I believe she fully becomes aware of that. I hope you enjoy The One! :)

  5. I felt the same way! This book was pretty frustrating but still intriguing enough that I need to know what happens next. So, I’m onto The One now :-D. Great review!

Send an owl

