May Wrap Up

On one hand May passed by really quickly, but on the other it just dragged on and on. I blame exams. I think they went pretty well and I don’t think I’ll have to do a make-up exam, which means I’m pretty much free until September! I wasn’t very active during May on the Internet, and I’m trying to catch up on everything I missed, but I’m really tired so I haven’t managed to really do that yet. One day I will have read all the blog posts though!

May was also the month of Eurovision. If you’re not from Europe (or Australia, and I heard they even aired it in China this year?) you might not know what Eurovision is. It’s basically a singing contest that could lead to a war (kidding, kidding. Eurovision humor, don’t worry). This year was a bit boring compared to previous years, but it was still enjoyable. I really liked Serbia, Sweden, Belgium and Israel (and possibly a few others, but I don’t remember). The Netherlands didn’t even make it to the finals, but honestly I didn’t expect us to. I hated (and still do) the song. It’s incredibly annoying, repetitive (thus why it’s annoying) and boring in my opinion, which is such a shame because the singer has a good voice. Just… the song. Why? (pun intended. For those of you who haven’t watched Eurovision: She sang ‘why’ over and over again) Now, you might be thinking: Michelle, you had exams. Why were you watching Eurovision? Because one does not simply not watch Eurovision. All kidding aside though, I can’t study at that time in the evening anyway, and I do need to relax a bit. Eurovision is the perfect way to relax.

And there ends my thoughts on this year’s Eurovision. On to the rest of the wrap up!

Books I read this month

IMG_3131

I’m siriusly proud of myself. Three books. While I spend most of the month studying and sleeping. And if I wasn’t doing one of those two things, I was watching films and tv shows. After all those textbooks and summaries and notes, I was just too tired to read. Thankfully that changed at the end of the month and I managed to read these three. Expect reviews soon!

Cress by Marissa Meyer ★★★★★
Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein ★★★
The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman ★★★★

2015 Goals

  • I read Cress which means I finished another series for my ‘Finish These Series’ goal. I didn’t count Fairest for the goal back then, but I will read it soon. I’m glad I’m all caught up before Winter comes out.
  • Cress was also on my list for The Fairytale Retelling Challenge! Which means I’ve now read two, which isn’t a lot, but it’s only June.
  • I’ve read 22 out of 50 books for my Goodreads Challenge and with all the free time I now have I’m sure I’ll be able to finish my goal soon.

‘Exams are over’ Book Haul

IMG_3110

Last Saturday I went to my favourite bookstore to treat myself after the exams. I still had a voucher and my mom and grandfather had promised to treat me as well. I got All The Bright Places for The Book Club of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs. I don’t have an opinion on it yet, except that it looks really pretty with my other pastel books haha.
I was really happy to finally find Prudence, the first book in The Custard Protocol series, which is the sequel series to The Parasol Protectorate series, one of my favourite series. Of course I could’ve just ordered it, but I could only find an expensive edition.
Ever since I found out about Isle of the Lost I knew I wanted to read it, so I was really happy to find a copy. I mean, Disney. Villains. Their children.
And last but not least I am Princess X, which I hadn’t heard of but the cover dragged me in haha (I’m sure that sounds familiar). The blurb also sounded really interesting and then when I got home I found out it’s partly illustrated!
I’ve got so many exciting books on my shelves to read now, that I don’t know where to start once I’ve finished All The Bright Places haha. Probably with Prudence though, as I’ve been waiting for that one for so long.

The Book Awards

Round 3 of The Book Awards will start this week! I hope you guys are just as excited as I am!

June

This month will be really exciting with all the freedom, The Book Awards round 3, my first blogoversary! (I’ll be out of the country though haha), my birthday and of course my trip to America! I promise a lot more posts than last month (only 9?!) and a lot more comments on your blogs! I’ve missed reading everyone’s posts.

On another note, The Fosters season 3 next week guys! If you don’t watch this amazing show yet, what are you doing? Go watch it!

So how was your month? I hope it was a good one!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

13 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

  1. Woo! Good job finishing your exams! Mine finished too!
    Good on you for finishing a good amount of books despite everything, I know how you feel with this.
    I’ve never heard of Euro vision and I’ve been seeing it everywhere! 😱

  2. Eurovision is hilarious! Over in England we have Graham Norton doing narration in between the singers and presenters, and he gives sassy and brilliant one-liners, such as this one:
    “Ok… That’s three minutes we will never get back, but look at it this way; We’ll never have to hear that song again.”
    Then when the Baltic countries vote for each other, Graham (and most of the UK by now) predict exactly how they vote! I find the whole show absolutely hilarious. :)

  3. Congrats on finishing your exams! I’m sure you did great! Looks like you got yourself some nice presents to celebrate… I’ve just started reading All The Bright Places as well! :D

  4. Hoho, Eurovision is a must for me every single year! My favourites were Norway, Sweden, Estonia, Slovenia and Belgium.

    I guess there`s barely anything more joyful for us booklovers than being able to run to the bookstore and grab some books, hehe! Congratulations with finishing your exams. A whole summer and vacation is now ahead of you!

Send an owl

