Review: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

Genre: Fantasy | sci-fi | mystery
Series: The Invisible Library
Goodreads rating: 3.80
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Irene must be at the top of her game or she’ll be off the case – permanently…

Irene is a professional spy for the mysterious Library, which harvests fiction from different realities. And along with her enigmatic assistant Kai, she’s posted to an alternative London. Their mission – to retrieve a dangerous book. But when they arrive, it’s already been stolen. London’s underground factions seem prepared to fight to the very death to find her book.

Adding to the jeopardy, this world is chaos-infested – the laws of nature bent to allow supernatural creatures and unpredictable magic. Irene’s new assistant is also hiding secrets of his own.

Soon, she’s up to her eyebrows in a heady mix of danger, clues and secret societies. Yet failure is not an option – the nature of reality itself is at stake (Goodreads).

review

I would have finished this book a lot quicker if it hadn’t been for exams, as it’s brilliant and fast-paced, written in a witty manner with witty dialogue and fun characters. I wasn’t immediately drawn into the world, thus the four stars instead of five, but I really can’t wait for the sequel.

Irene works for the Library, which is something I think all of us would want to do. She travels to alternate universes to collect works of fiction. Alternate universes? Yes please. Sometimes with fairies, vampires, dragons, detectives and adventure? Hell yeah. Collecting books? Sign me up.

Irene is a great protagonist, smart, funny and witty, who knows how to get out of a tricky situation. Through the novel we get to know her pretty well and she starts to have some doubts about her and the Library’s morals, which I hope will be explored further in The Masked City. Kai is like her Watson, he is reliable and thrustworthy and knows that Irene knows what she’s doing. The side characters are all interesting and quirky. If you’re looking for the perfect squad to solve a mystery with, look no further.

The worldbuilding is also well done. Cogman explains the way the library and the alternate worlds work piece by piece, not all at once. She tells you what you need to know for now, without leaving you completely clueless. Questions were answered I didn’t even realise I had. And can I again say: alternate worlds? Fairies and vampires and dragons and detectives and adventure? And of course there is magic and ‘the Language’, which is sort of the Librarian’s magic.

And oh the mystery was well done. There were plot twists I didn’t see coming until Irene started to figure them out. They left me open mouthed and wanting to read more and more. Why oh why was this only released this year? Why do I have to wait so long for The Masked City? (Okay, according to the publisher it will be released in October, which isn’t such a long wait, but still) I need more of Irene and Kai and their companions. I need to know what happens next.

This book was amazing. Writing this review I fell in love with it all over again. Read it, you won’t regret it. And if you do, I hereby give you permission to chase me with pitchforks. And if you do, please don’t chase me with pitckforks.

signature

17 thoughts on “Review: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

  1. This sounds like such an awesome book! I love mysteries, especially when I can’t figure them out before the main character does. :) Great review! I will DEFINITELY be ordering this one. ;)
    -Amy

Send an owl

