The Book Awards: Favourite Romantic Ship

Kicking off The Book Awards is Favourite Romantic Ship. All of these ships have a beautiful love, but which one will survive the storm that is The Book Awards? (pardon my terrible pun).

Warning: Spoilers for The Fault in Our Stars, Eleanor and Park, Harry Potter, Percy Jackson and The Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus and Throne of Glass (specifically Crown of Midnight).Β 

Warning #2: Lots of fangirling going on in this post.Β 

Hazel and Gus (The Fault in Our Stars by John Green)

Apart from not really having a ship name (Hazus? Guzel? Hagustus? Aguzel? If anyone knows a ship name that does not suck, please help me out here haha), they have a beautiful love that surpasses even death. We don’t know what happens to Hazel after the ending of the book, but I think we can all agree that she will never stop loving Gus. They were there for each other and understood each other like no one else around them could.

Eleanor and Park (Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell)

β€œEleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

Damn, why has no one said this about me yet? Eleanor and Park didn’t like each other at first, but they slowly become friends and fall in love. The transition from strangers to friends to lovers was beautifully done and realistic, just like the ending (how frustrating it may be).

Brb dying from cuteness

Ron and Hermione (Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling)

Okay so maybe J.K. Rowling herself is having second thoughts about this ship, but I don’t care. Romione all the way. They balance each other out, they fight and make up (woah for a second there I felt like I was singing Hot ‘n Cold!), they too started out as friends and fell in love and they’re just perfect for each other okay? BESIDES LOOK AT THAT GIF. HOW CAN YOU NOT SHIP THIS.

Percy and Annabeth (Percy Jackson and the OlympiansΒ andΒ The Heroes of OlympusΒ by Rick Riordan)

Again started out as friends. Crushing on each other forever driving us readers insane. Not wanting to be separated from each other. Trusting each other with their lives. Giving up immortality. FALLING INTO TARTARUS TOGETHER LIKE ARE YOU KIDDING ME UNCLE RICK. And now they’re going to live in New Rome and finally live in peace and happiness with each other.

You tell them Buffy. Though I’m pretty sure that the entire fandom ships this.

β€œWith you scowling at everyone, no one will ask me to dance.”

Chaol and Celaena (Throne of GlassΒ by Sarah J. Maas)

WHY OH WHY DID THEY HAVE TO GET TOGETHER AND HAVE THIS BEAUTIFUL RELATIONSHIP ONLY TO HAVE IT DESTROYED A FEW CHAPTERS LATER.

Chaol honestly cares about her and wants her to be safe. Was sending her away not a good idea? Maybe, but he had good intentions. Celaena may not be able to trust him right now, but I’m confident that she will be able to again in the future and that she will always love him. Even if they don’t get back together, what they had is beautiful and heartbreaking and will forever be in my shipper heart.

I ship all of these, so I don’t even care which ship wins. LET THE BEST SHIP SAIL THROUGH THE BOOK AWARDS (again sorry for the bad pun).

CHALLENGE

Pick your OTP (okay let’s be honest here, we all have several so pick one of them) and think of a song for them. If you’re feeling creative, make one up yourself! If you’re musically talented, play/sing it! SHOW YOUR LOVE FOR YOUR SHIP. It doesn’t have to be one of the above five. You can share the song in the comments, in your own blog post (so that more people know about The Book Awards and can vote for your favourite ship!), tell me on Twitter (@writingbadger or use #TBAchallenge) or if you’re performing the song, share it on Youtube! (and of course let me know in the comments so I can check it out :) )

I will pick some favourites next week and share them! Of course if you want to do this challenge after next week, that’s fine too! There’s no deadline, unless you want to be featured.

If you have any questions, let me know in the comments!

For this challenge I’ve picked Romione and their song is:

There are still some nominees that I don’t know anything about, so please tell me here why your favourite should win! I realised that I forgot quite a few (all categories that didn’t have to go through round 2 voting as there weren’t that many nominees), so if you’ve already told me about your favourites, please check the post again to see if you can help me with the ones I temporarily forgot about!

Voting will start once the promoting part is over, but let me know in the comments which one is your favourite and why!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

12 thoughts on “The Book Awards: Favourite Romantic Ship

  1. Ahem. You skipped one… what about Jace and Clary?!?!???!? Their love is so true and pure that the author had to change her mind about making them brother and sister!!!!
    -The Very Opinionated and Always Right Nikki

  2. […] Heartbreaking yet heartwarming at the same time, and even funny. This book was hard for me to read as it’s a difficult subject for me (it’s why I still haven’t seen the film yet. Actually seeing certain scenes is a lot more difficult than reading about them), but I did love it, as it’s a beautiful story, with once again realistic teenagers (except maybe for Gus. His way of talking is a little bit less realistic) and great friendship. Also a beautiful love you can read about here. […]

Send an owl

