Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

cress2
Genre: YA, fantasy, sci-fi, fairytale retelling
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3
Goodreads rating: 4.49
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

review

I have to be honest here. I kind of forgot I hadn’t written a review yet and now I’m mad at myself as my memory is already foggy. Woops.

In the third book of The Lunar Chronicles we meet a not completely new character: Cress, who is based on Rapunzel. Can we take this moment to applaud Marissa Meyer for the way she intertwined the fairytale of Rapunzel into The Lunar Chronicles? It’s brilliant and my favourite so far. Cress’ relationship with Thorne is adorable and I ship it. Cress herself is adorable as well and I can’t wait to see more of her. I wish she had joined the crew earlier so she would have had more screen time (page time?).

Lots of stuff happens in this book. Lots of spoily stuff that I won’t spoil for you.

This was me throughout most of the book. ‘CAUSE GUYS IT’S GOING DOWN. I’M YELLING TIMBER CINDER.

Cress is once again full of action, humor, great relationships (platonic and romantic), tears and cuteness. I barely knew anything going into this book, and I think you should too if you haven’t read it yet.

Cress is a rollercoaster of emotions and I need Winter now. I feel so bad for all of you who read this book a long time ago. You poor things how did you survive?! Share your survival tips with me haha.

Have you read it yet? What did you think of Cress? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

16 thoughts on “Review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

  1. Cress is definitely my favourite in the series so far. I loved it. I think, perhaps, it was because of the characters. While I enjoyed Cinder and Scarlet’s stories, I just adored Cress. She was adorably innocent — and it was so much fun to read. Lovely review!

  2. I personally think that cress is the best out of the three. AND I just love how all the female characters are brilliant in stereotypically male jobs like mechanics, pilot and hacker (prob bc I aspire to be an engineer haha). Definitely excited for the forth book :)

Send an owl

