Review: Prudence by Gail Carriger

prudence

Genre: Steampunk, sci-fi, fantasy
Series: The Custard Protocol #1 (sequel series to The Parasol Protectorate)
Goodreads rating: 3.82
My rating: ★★★★

Warning: Spoilers for The Parasol Protectorate series

summary

When Prudence Alessandra Maccon Akeldama (Rue to her friends) is given an unexpected dirigible, she does what any sensible female would under similar circumstances – names it the Spotted Custard and floats to India in pursuit of the perfect cup of tea. But India has more than just tea on offer. Rue stumbles upon a plot involving local dissidents, a kidnapped brigadier’s wife, and some awfully familiar Scottish werewolves. Faced with a dire crisis and an embarrassing lack of bloomers, what else is a young lady of good breeding to do but turn metanatural and find out everyone’s secrets, even thousand-year-old fuzzy ones?

review

I love Gail Carriger work. The Parasol Protectorate series is one of my favourite series, so when I found out there was going to be a sequel series about Prudence, I got very, very excited. Sadly the publishing date was a long time away back then and when I finally got my hands on Prudence, my memory of what happened during Parasol had become a bit fuzzy. Luckily the most important things are briefly explained again in Prudence, so that wasn’t a problem.

The book started a bit slow for me, though I liked meeting all the new and old characters and there were some funny and witty moments, it was a bit boring and for a moment I was scared that this wasn’t going to be as good as the original series. Thank God the pace picked up once they got to India! From there on out lots of things happened and mysteries had to be solved.

I loved seeing the old characters from Prudence point of view, especially that of her parents. I did miss the old main characters, but throughout the book the new ones grew on me and I’m sure I’ll come to love them (almost) as much as the originals. Prudence is a lot like her mother, yet it is clear she has also been raised by Conall and Akeldama, which makes a brilliant combination. Primrose, Ivy’s daughter, and Rue are the perfect team and Percy (Prim’s twin brother) and Quesnel (who you may or may not remember from Parasol)   are also on board. I’m not sure how I feel about Percy yet, but I totally ship Rue and Quesnel (Ruesnel?).

There’s almost as much action, humor and tea in this one as in the originals. The world building has expanded and I can’t wait to see what else Gail comes up with in Imprudence. All in all a good introduction to this new series, that I’m sure will only get better. If you enjoyed The Parasol Protectorate, be sure to pick this up!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

One thought on “Review: Prudence by Gail Carriger

Send an owl

