Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

IMG_3309

Genre: YA, contemporary, mystery, part graphic novel
Goodreads rating: 4.09
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen; illustrated throughout with comics.

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon—her best friend, Libby, who lives (Goodreads).

review

When I spotted this beauty at the bookstore, I knew I had to have it. I mean, can you blame me? Look at the gorgeousness of it. You fellow bookworms get me right? I’m pretty sure we’re all suckers for breathtaking covers.
Okay, I did read the blurb first to see if I really had to have it, and I was right. I mean, read the summary above. It sounds awesome- and it was.

But let’s focus on the beauty of this book first. What I didn’t know when I bought it, is that it’s illustrated. Not only does this make the book 1000000 times more beautiful (I’ll be using the word beauty/beautiful a lot in this review), it also added to the story as there are pages of the Princess X comic for you to read. It’s so much more fun to read bits of the comic yourself instead of reading about it!

The back is almost as pretty as the front

So is the spine

Even the chapter pages are pretty

LOOK AT IT

I didn’t photograph any of the actual comic pages, as that might spoil the story too much. There are many more illustrations though and it’s just, again, beautiful.

Now if that didn’t convince you to buy this yet, on to the story itself. It is suspenseful and funny, heartwarming and sometimes sad, and oh my god I couldn’t stop reading. I was going to go bed on time, but Princess X had other plans. I couldn’t stop turning the pages and I found myself covering the pages with my hands many times to stop myself from spoiling myself (I can’t help it, when things are getting exciting my eyes tend to wander and I’ll spoil myself). The mystery is solved piece by piece, and with every piece things get more interesting (and a bit scary!). My heart was beating fast during many scenes!

Possible minor spoiler. 

Another thing I liked was the friendship between May and Trick. It was pure platonic (HALLELUJAH!) and they just had this great relationship where they teased each other and joked around. When Trick was introduced I got a bit annoyed, because I was afraid it would turn into a romance and I really wasn’t in the mood for that. I mean, her best friend may or may not be dead, is at least missing and she has a mystery to solve. She does not have time to fall in love!  So I was definitely happy about the fact there was no romance at all in this book. It just would’ve felt off!

I could go on and on about Princess X. It’s definitely a new favourite of mine and I’d recommend it in a heartbeat. I would’ve loved to say more about it, but I really think you should go into it without knowing too much! Have you read I Am Princess X yet? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

11 thoughts on “Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

  1. I stopped reading when I reached The Possible Minor Spoiler! Sounds interesting, will probably pick it up if I find it at the bookstore. [:

  2. Ooh, look at that pretty cover :’O And back. And chapter pages. And, and-

    I’m sorry but it’s a pretty book. It sounds great! Definitely adding it to my TBR <3 Loved the review!

Send an owl

