Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_2962

Genre: New adult/Young adult (not sure?), fantasy, fairytale retelling
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Goodreads rating: 4.34
My rating: ★★

summary

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever (Goodreads).

review

I feel like I’m alone in saying this: but I was really disappointed in this book. Please don’t chase me with hay forks and torches, it’s just how I felt! Throne of Glass is one of my favourite series and I love Sarah, but ACOTAR just didn’t blow me away at all. I was expecting an epic fantasy with lots of action and great world building, but the focus was mostly on the characters. Maybe I would’ve felt different if I had known that beforehand, but I would still have a lot of problems.

I disliked most of the characters. I only liked Lucien, but he didn’t appear enough for me to love this book to pieces. Feyre is one of the most annoying protagonists I’ve read in a while. I might not have felt this way if it hadn’t been written in first person, but oh my god Feyre just shut up about how you want to paint everything but you can’t because it will never be as beautiful I GET IT. Her narration was incredibly irritating, she herself wasn’t very likeable either, neither was Tamlin. I don’t understand everyone swooning over him. I found him creepy (and the fact that he bit her and that was her fault?! I don’t care that he wasn’t himself. I hate victim blaming, okay. I feel very strongly about that) and didn’t see the chemistry between him and Feyre. And oh my god don’t get me started on Rhysand. He was even creepier and more disturbing. I don’t care that he was trying to protect her and trying to help. IT WAS DISTURBING AS HELL AND I DON’T WANT TO READ THE SEQUEL BECAUSE I’M SCARED OF WHAT HE WILL DO TO HER WHEN SHE HAS TO LIVE WITH HIM.

I also felt like barely anything happened until the ending and by then I didn’t even care really about what was going to happen. Except to Lucien. Don’t hurt that precious thing. I even skimmed a certain action scene because it actually bored me. THAT DIDN’T HAPPEN IN THRONE OF GLASS. And the lead up to all these scenes…? I just… I don’t know guys. I have so many mixed feelings about this book, I even debated with myself if I should give a two or three star rating. I decided that because there were moments that were actually fun to read and I didn’t hate all the characters, so three stars it was. (EDIT: after thinking it really through I decided to give it a 2-star rating after all. I’m just too disturbed by some of the abusive and rape culture elements). I could actually rant about this book, which is not a good sign. I finished it right before I left for America, so I don’t remember all my irritations and faults, but guys…. PLEASE TELL ME I’M NOT ALONE. I wanted to love this book, I really did. IT’S SARAH J. MAAS GUYS. But I won’t even continue with this series, I was that annoyed.

So… Am I alone in this? PLEASE TELL ME I’M NOT.

– The Writing Hufflepuff

9 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’m sorry that I am not on the same boat as you. I loved this book. But I think one of the reasons people dislike this book is because people go into this book believing it will be like Throne of Glass – like you said, an epic, action packed story with a great plot. But honestly, its a fairytale retelling of Beauty and the Beast, which means it’s a focus on romance and characters. I mentioned this in my review of this book (not sure if you read it or not) but I tried to tell those who were going to read it, not to expect crazy action and fantasy elements.
    Its good to see a differing perspective. I didnt feel the way you did about the characters. Especially, I’m a fan of Tamlin, but the reason I don’t think he’s creepy or anything is probably because I’m so closely relating this book to the Beauty and the Beast fairytale.
    Great review! xoxo

    • Don’t apologize for loving the book! I’m happy that you liked it and wish that I did too! I knew it was a retelling and I am familiar with the story, but because of the fairies I just expected more fantasy haha. If I had liked the characters and had felt the chemistry, I know I would’ve felt very different about the book! I wish I had read your review beforehand (I avoided all the reviews because I wanted to go in knowing nothing) I probably would’ve felt different already knowing what to expect!
      I know Tamlin is supposed to be ‘the beast’ but I didn’t find the original beast nor Disney’s creepy :/ Though it would be disturbing if the Disney or was creepy and not to mention alarming 😂

      • I do understand what you mean about the whole creepy thing! The more I think about it, the more I notice it. 😅
        I just watched a Book Discussion from youtuber InkandBones on YouTube talk about this book and I think you two share very very similar ideas about it! Maybe you should check it out xoxo

  2. […] I could go with Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, since I gave it two stars, but I’m not sure if I’d call it a disappointment as I expected a three-star read. So I’m going to go with A Court of Thorns and Roses. Though I gave it three stars, I expected to enjoy it a lot more, and honestly, I kind of didn’t. Read my review here. […]

  3. I can’t believe I forgot about Feyre’s narration in my review! You’re so right—I lost count of how many times Feyre said that she couldn’t paint what she saw because it was too beautiful. Saying it once is fine, but saying it for everything makes it sound like she has a low threshold for beautiful.

Send an owl

