Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

deathcurefotor

Genre: Young adult, dystopian
Series: The Maze Runner #3
Goodreads rating: 3.79
My rating: ★★★★

summary

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.

The time for lies is over (Goodreads).

review

Me while reading this book:

72

I know not everyone loves/enjoys this series. I know a lot of people did like the series, until The Death Cure. I’m happy that I’m not one of them!

The Death Cure wasn’t perfect, but I was always at the edge of my seat with my heart in my throat (not literally, don’t worry). Just like in the previous two books there was so much happening and so many almost deaths (AND ACTUAL DEATHS THAT I’M NOT OVER YET AND NEVER WILL BE EVEN THOUGH I KNEW THEY WERE COMING AS TUMBLR SPOILED ME). I have to admit, I wanted more answers. I feel like not everything has been addressed, but maybe that’s because there was such a time gap between reading The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure (I’ve heard/read so many times that people were disappointed in this book that I kept putting it off) or maybe I just need to read The Kill Order to know everything.

I still don’t like Brenda. I’m not saying I dislike her- I don’t feel anything towards her. You know on those book reports or tests where they sometimes ask you to describe the most important characters? If I had read The Death Cure for school I would have to describe Brenda, because she plays a pretty significant role, but I honestly wouldn’t really be able to describe her. ‘Brave, likes Thomas’. Um, I need to know more about main characters Mr. Dashner. Also totally don’t feel the chemistry between her and Thomas (I’M TEAM TERESA GUYS). I still feel like she was only added to include a love triangle. Spoiler in white: and as a replacement for Teresa so that Thomas has someone to repopulate the earth with now that HIS TRUE LOVE is dead. I believe in Thomesa guys. 

Another thing I’m not sure about is the ending. It felt a bit off to me, but OH MY GOD THAT EPILOGUE.

Basically me

So all in all The Death Cure (almost typed The Death Runner woops) was an entertaining, tense read that gave me all the feels even though it wasn’t perfect (but how many books are really?). How did you feel about The Death Cure if you’ve read it?

– The Writing Hufflepuff

9 thoughts on “Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

  1. This series had to be one of my many favourites but I think you will find an awful lot out when you read The Kill Order. I think it explains a lot.

  2. I love the Maze Runner series, but I really didn’t like Death Cure, mainly because of the ending. I was kind of skeptical with that last part. Instead of using Thomas and the others as lab rats (throughout the whole series), I wish WICKED had looked for all the immunes to set them apart from the cranks and be the future of the world. With that conclusion, I feel like TMR could have been so much more. There was a lot of potential in the series and frankly, Death Cure ruined some of them for me :(

    I still love James Dashner though! Have you read his other books…The Eye of Minds, etc?

    PS. Liked your review!

Send an owl

