Review: Paper Towns by John Green

papertownsfotor

Genre: Young adult, contemporary
Goodreads rating: 4.01
My rating: ★★★★

summary

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew…(Goodreads).

review

Disclaimer: I read this on the plane back from America and was exhausted, then I finished it at home when I was still exhausted. May or may not have read/understood everything due to exhaustion.

While reading this book I thought I would give this book five stars. I loved the mystery and friendship aspect. Road trip? Hell yes! (though I did think the road trip would be a bigger part). I liked the characters and getting to know them by each page. I liked how Q started to understand Margo the more he looked for her. I liked how the friends interacted with each other. I won’t go into too many details, as I barely knew anything going in (while I knew way too much when I started TFIOS), and I really recommend that.

What I didn’t like was the ending. It felt off and I literally turned the page almost yelling ‘THIS IS IT?’, but as stated in my disclaimer I was really, really exhausted, so I’m planning on rereading the ending and see if I feel different and hopefully I’ll be able to change my rating, as I really enjoyed and loved the book. Besides, I gave TFIOS five stars and I loved this more. The more I talk about this the more I feel like I definitely need to reread the ending now haha.

So, do I need to reread the ending? Was my exhaustion clouding me from appreciating it? Tell me!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

27 thoughts on “Review: Paper Towns by John Green

  1. Honestly speaking – Paper Towns remains one the few (like count on one hand) books that I actually did not finish! So this review pretty much is perfect for me :D
    I still don’t know though, if I would ever go back to the book or even watch the movie. But considering the track record with TFIOS – I have a feeling the movie might turn out to be a lot more better :D

    • I’m really excited to see what they’ve done with the film! :D Maybe it wasn’t the right time for you back when you tried to read it? I’ll probably review the film once I’ve seen it (it’s not out yet here) so I’ll let you know if I thought it was better ^-^

  2. I gave this book 5 stars but I felt the same way about the ending. I sat there staring at the book for about 5 minutes just thinking about why it ended that way.

  3. Nice review, sometimes exhaustion clouds my judgment too so I understand :) . I’m kind of hesitant to start this bc there is just so much hype so I’m afraid that it won’t live up to my expectations, that’s what happened to TFIOS for me :\

  4. I definitely understand the consequences of reading while exhausted, haha. You should definitely reread the ending, though. Honestly, the ending was what made Paper Towns for me–because the whole book deals with how we perceive others and the danger of imposing our own idealized projections onto real people. I feel like the ending really fit with this theme–at the end of the day, no one really understood Margo, and it would be unfair to both her and Q to resolve the story with a neat, idealized happy ending, you know? The fact that the ending is arguably a letdown is kind of the point (I think); the real Margo isn’t like the narratives her friends create of her, and the resolution to her (and Q’s) story isn’t an ideal climax. I don’t know; it’s not my favorite John Green book (Looking for Alaska is better), but I like it. :)

  5. Paper Towns is my favourite John Green book (yes, even more than TFIOS, gasp!), and I would definitely suggest reading it again without the exhaustion. I like the ending because (1) it’s open, (2) it really lends itself to the message of the book. I guess it sort of is abrupt, but I feel like there isn’t much else to add after it.

  6. Great review! I actually liked the ending. It shows that Q’s story is about how he’s not in love with Margo, he’s in love with the idea of her. I just watched the movie a week ago as well, and I really liked it. It stayed true to the book. It’s not the best book in the world, I agree, but it’s a great one in my opinion ;)

Send an owl

