All The Bright Places in Amsterdam

As you may know, last month The Bookclub of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs read All The Bright Places and inspired by the book we decided to find some unique things in our state/city/country etc. just like Finch and Violet in the book. So in today’s post I will be talking about some unique things in Amsterdam!

Muziekboot Notendop (Musicboat Nutshell)

A few months ago my mom and I were in the centre of the city when we encountered this man. I had no idea who he was, but my mom knew him. Apparently he’s quite famous (he’s even been abroad!) and he comes in the ‘grachten’ (canals) quite often where he plays music. His concerts are ‘surprise concerts’ though (at least according to this documentary on Youtube with English subtitles) and he doesn’t only give them in Amsterdam, but where ever there is water.

Parrots

Okay, parrots are not an unique thing. I mean, they live all over the world, but would you expect to see them in Amsterdam? In the wild? You can find them for example in the Spaarndammerbuurt and Plantage-buurt (buurt means neighbourhood), at least these are the places I’ve encountered them myself!

American Book Center

Image from ABC.nl

Of course there’s a bookstore on this list. How can there not be? The ABC and Waterstones are my favourite bookstores in Amsterdam, but ABC probably a little more. The books are cheaper and I just love the design of the store. I mean, how many bookstores have a tree in their middle?

The clog on Dam Square

Image from Let’s Go Digital

I was actually planning on going there and taking a very touristy picture with it, but I was busy this week and couldn’t! Anyway, at the Dam Square you can find this big clog, sit in it and take a picture (something a lot of tourists do).

Zaanhof

When you enter this ‘courtyard’ (it’s not exactly a courtyard, but it’s the only good translation for ‘hof’) it feels like you’re entering a small little village. The trees are always beautiful, even in winter (they’re really good for photography haha). It’s nice to sit there and enjoy the weather in peace (there’s hardly ever any commotion) and there’s a nice artsy bird thing that sprays water called the Woezel, which you can’t see in this picture, nor the memorial stone for WOII.

And these are some bright ‘places’ from Amsterdam! I wanted to go with some less known things and more positive ones (we’re not all about drugs guys. Far from it)

Have you been in any of these places, or have you seen the musicboat and/or the parrots? What are some of the bright places where you live? Let me know in the comments! And don’t forget to keep an eye out for Alyssa’s and Emily’s posts!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

37 thoughts on “All The Bright Places in Amsterdam

  1. I went to Amsterdam for the day last November. I’m now disappointed I did not come across the singing man in the boat or even the parrots haha. So fun.

  2. This is such a nice post! I love the idea behind it. It’s so good to find the hidden gems in your city that make it special and unique to you. I’m planning a trip to Europe with my sister and I swear after seeing that bookshop it’s making the list! Haha it’s so cool!!

  3. That bookstore looks perfect! Actually, everything about Amsterdam looks so beautiful and gorgeous. I definitely have to get there at least once in my life.

  4. These sounds amazing. I love how you were inspired by the book to do this. I might even do it myself! But that music boat person is really a unique and amazing thing! I’ve never even heard of him! xoxo

Send an owl

