Review: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

thepowerofsix

Genre: Young adult, science fiction
Series: The Lorien Legacies #2
Goodreads rating: 4.17
My rating: ★★★★

Warning: spoilers for I Am Number Four

summary

I’ve seen him on the news. Followed the stories about what happened in Ohio. John Smith, out there, on the run. To the world, he’s a mystery. But to me . . . he’s one of us.

Nine of us came here, but sometimes I wonder if time has changed us—if we all still believe in our mission. How can I know? There are six of us left. We’re hiding, blending in, avoiding contact with one another . . . but our Legacies are developing, and soon we’ll be equipped to fight. Is John Number Four, and is his appearance the sign I’ve been waiting for? And what about Number Five and Six? Could one of them be the raven-haired girl with the stormy eyes from my dreams? The girl with powers that are beyond anything I could ever imagine? The girl who may be strong enough to bring the six of us together?

They caught Number One in Malaysia.
Number Two in England.
And Number Three in Kenya.
They tried to catch Number Four in Ohio—and failed.

I am Number Seven. One of six still alive.

And I’m ready to fight (Goodreads).

review

So I read I Am Number Four roughly a year ago, but going into this book wasn’t a problem. I quickly remembered what happened (and it was shortly explained), so thankfully I wasn’t too confused.

The Power of Six starts out with the POV of Seven, or Marina as he calls herself on Earth, whose story was a bit boring at first. I did like Marina and reading from her POV, but not much happened at first, while in the meantime Four, Six and Sam were in danger. Obviously I wanted to go back to their story to see if they were okay!

There was plenty of action, just like in the prequel, to keep me on the edge of my seat (not literally, I was comfortable in my bed) and keep me reading. I wanted to know what was going to happen next and the writing style is easy to read.

I was really, really bothered by the love triangle in this one though. No, scratch that. There are even TWO love triangles. High light for spoiler: Four is in love with Sarah and Six. Six is in love with Four and Sam. Um okay. The moment Six was introduced in I Am Number Four I got a bad feeling, sadly this feeling came true. Six has some awesome powers, an awesome background story and I think she could be an amazing character, but instead she is more of a love interest than a real character. 

What I did like (besides the action) was the friendship between Four and Sam, just like in the prequel. They risk their lives for each other, comfort each other and just generally have a nice bromance to read about.

If you’ve read The Power of Six, how did you feel about that love triangle? And about Six? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

9 thoughts on “Review: The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore

  1. OOH I LOVE THIS. I read the first book, and found it to be sort of…meh. I don’t know XD I’m gonna give the second one a try. Hopefully I like it :) Also…two overlapping triangles? 0.0 If you think about it, that’s like six whole love interests XD

    Lovely review, Michelle <3

  2. I’ve always been eager to read this series. It’s on my ginormous TBR pile who knows I might get to it eventually. Maybe. If I add another 50 years onto my life time and stop adding books to the pile hahah
    Two overlapping love triangles??? Interesting! I hate a bad thought out love triangle but two overlapping may just be entertaining reading about everyone mopping for someone else.
    Great review :)

    • Haha books are the only reason why I’d want to be immortal. There’s just not enough time to read them all!
      Yeah two overlapping love triangles do add a lot of drama XD and in a way it’s original!
      Thanks :)

  3. Don’t want to say too much, but they do kinda get away from the stupid love triangles eventually. I think the books keep improving through the series.

Send an owl

