The Book Awards: Best Book Series

There are so many book series out there (too many. I will never read them all!), but which one is the best? This post will try to convince you why every one of these nominees deserves to win.

Warning: Slight shipping spoiler for Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Well, do I even have to explain this one? These books are so important to an entire generation and I believe they will be for future generations as well. For so many people in the world these books are not just an escape, but an inspiration. Harry, Ron, Hermione and all the others are our friends. The Wizarding World is our world. Hogwarts will always be our home.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Sassy protagonist? Check. Awesome adventures? Check. Greek mythology? Check. Great friendships? Check. All the feels? (though not so much as the next one). Check.
If you haven’t read this series yet, go do it now. And then read the next nominee. Because once you read this series, you’ll want more.

Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

The sequel series to Percy Jackson and the Olympians, with more POVs, more Percabeth, more Nico and new characters to fall in love with. Some people might tell you that the original is better, but I love them equally. A lot of people may have found Blood of Olympus a bit disappointing (and I do understand why, though I loved it), but that doesn’t take the awesomeness of this series away!

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven’t read this series (yet), so I can’t tell you why this series deserves to win, but Taile from Twist in the Taile can!
‘It’s beautifully written and there’s so much beyond the text to dive into; maybe this is repeated a lot, but the characters really do jump off the page. The books are a little pretentious but their style is so unique and hooking that I think I’ll forgive them that.’

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Another series I haven’t read, thankfully Kayleigh from Miserable and Magical has, and she told me why she thinks Outlander deserves to win: ‘It’s such a good book filled with Scottish history and adventure. The characters are so well written and the story is a page turner … Although I found it to be a slow start I couldn’t put the book down once I got into it. The characters are so well written you can’t help but love and hate them.’ 

Which one of these is your favourite? Or maybe your favourite isn’t on here? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

24 thoughts on “The Book Awards: Best Book Series

  1. I haven’t read the rest of the series you mentioned yet (although I will probably start The Raven Boys and Outlander soon), but even so Harry Potter will always be my all time favorite series. I practically grew up along with Harry and his friends! Haha. ;)

  2. Harry Potter of course is my all time favorite series and it’s followed by The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning! I still have yet to finish the Percy Jackson series (on the last book) but I will!

  3. My favorite is no doubt Harry Potter and PJO!! Also, I’ve been hearing lots of great things about Outlander so I’ll have to check that one out soon :)
    But I would have loved to see The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare on the list. Have you read those yet? :)

  4. Out of all of these, The Heroes of Olympus series is the only one I have read. And that was the first series I finished at the beginning of this year. I can honestly say it’s sitting near the top of my favourite series of this year. I’m sure the Percy Jackson series was amazing too, but The Heroes of Olympus series just really took a piece of my heart and imprinted itself there. I loved the adventure, the characters, especially LEO VALDEZ. Leo is my man, oh gosh.
    And the best part about this book is the diversity too which I was not expecting! And anything to do with Greek mythology is good in my books.

Send an owl

