Review: The One by Kiera Cass

theone2_Fotor

Genre: Young adult, dystopian, romance
Series: The Selection #3
Goodreads rating: 4.21
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants (Goodreads).

review

While I knew how this was going to end (and not just because of The Heir), I still immensely enjoyed this book and I have to say this is my favourite in the series (so far, as I haven’t read The Heir yet). I definitely didn’t expect the book to go in certain directions and there were plot twists that I did NOT see coming at all.

My face at a certain moment

The girls became really close in this finale which really warmed my heart. I absolutely love friendship (a lot of the times even more than romance) and to see them all finally trust each other and have fun- I LOVED IT.

Here’s a list of things that I loved:

  •  Things being resolved. Highlight for spoiler: I loved that most characters got happy endings. You know, the ones who survived and were nice and all. I still don’t really care for Aspen and I think Lucy could do better but oh well. As long as Lucy is happy.
  •  The plot twists (there was one plot twist that I did think of during the first two books, but I didn’t think I was actually right!)
  • The action (more than in the previous two books, and I loved it)
  • As always the writing style. Kiera Cass’ books just read so easy and fast!
  • The rebels were finally really part of the plot. In the previous two books the rebels were just… Well, they were just there. They didn’t add much except a bit of drama.
  • Finding out more about the rebels
  • Minor spoiler: Celeste. Highlight: During the first two books I was so hoping that there would be more to her and YES THERE WAS.

Short list, because I don’t want to spoil too much (and I waited way too long to write this oops). Again, The One is in my opinion the best one in the series and I can’t wait to read The Heir to see what happens next. I really hope we’ll see some of the old characters besides the obvious ones make an appearance.

Have you read The One yet? If so, what did you think? I’ve heard mixed reviews about The Heir, which makes me a bit nervous (I haven’t read/heard any details, as I didn’t want to know anything, especially not having read The One yet, but I do know people who loved the original three books were disappointed), so what are your opinions on The Heir? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

32 thoughts on “Review: The One by Kiera Cass

  1. This book is my favorite from the series too! It was action-packed and a lot of characters went through character development. I really just wish that we had more knowledge about their world. It wasn’t really explored in the series and I didn’t feel the whole dystopian vibe.

    And good luck on reading The Heir! I personally didn’t like it but don’t let me keep you from reading it! Enjoy x

    • Yeah it doesn’t feel like a dystopian to me either! Also agree on the worldbuilding- it would’ve been nice if Cass had focused more on that than the love triangle…
      I hope I’ll enjoy it! I’m really nervous to start it (I haven’t even bought it yet)

      • Yes, the love triangle sucked so much! It’s like it’s just been thrown there….

        I hope so too! Let me know what you think after you’ve finished the book :)

      • Exactly! It’s so obvious she’ll end up with Maxon (I mean what would be the point of the entire Selection if she didn’t?) so it doesn’t add anything except drama.
        I will! :)

  2. Oh, I definitely recommend giving The Heir a chance. I did not like the main character much at all — she was quite spoilt and whiny — but she DID grow more toward the end and I’m looking forward to seeing her grow further in the sequel. I agree — there were actually heaps of plot twists in this one I DIDN’T see coming. I mean, I SO guessed who America was going to end up with, but overall I loved this book <3

  3. You should definitely give The Heir a go! Especially if you enjoyed this whole trilogy. It’s different reading from Eadlyn, the one running the Selection’s POV. It’s very different from reading from America, a contestant’s, POV. The main character is a bit of a brat in the start but she grows and becomes a lot better! And the ending is just like. Whoa – PLOT TWIST. I assure you, you will not see that ending coming! (Unless you get spoiled for it)

  4. I really enjoyed The One too! There was one moment that literally made my jaw drop. There are a lot of awesome plot twists in the book, but I think I wish more time was spent on America being happy for a bit. I really want to read The Heir, but the ebook is ridiculously expensive. So I’ll just wait until the price drops *sighs*

  5. I have only read The Selection but I really want to read the rest! I’m glad the rebels eventually get a bigger role! I really felt compelled and interested when they were introduced in The Selection. xoxo

  6. I loved the last book but I felt the ending was kind of rushed. Maybe that’s just me but I was glad of all those happy endings that happened for lots of different characters. I did enjoy reading about the others, like Lucy. (I also think Lucy could have done better because I never quite liked Aspen to begin with.) I did love the role the rebels took in this book which I feel was a long time coming. Now I just need to get my hands on The Heir and find out what’s happened since :)

  7. I just finished reading this book and LOVED IT. The ending was just so bitter sweet. My tear ducts may or may not have produced some tears. I too was happy how things turned out with the girls and that America chose the one she was the most happy with. :)

  8. Great review! I’m glad you liked this! It was a really good book, I can’t find enough people who enjoyed it, to be honest. Or maybe that’s just because I haven’t been around to many people. You should definitely give The Heir a try, although beware the main character; she is quite annoying! But the book is still really good. <3

  9. I loved this book and the series, by the end of The Heir I was in tears! If you even got some what invested in the characters involved in this series then you should at least give The Heir a try.

Send an owl

