Orlando Day 3: A Fish Headbutts Me

Previous posts: Orlando Day 1, Orlando Day 2 part 1 and Orlando Day 2 part 2.

It’s time for day 3 and thus day 2 of Universal! You’re probably all wondering what the title was about (A FISH ATTACKED YOU?!), but patience young grasshoppers.

We started our day at Islands of Adventure this time, where our first stop was the Spiderman ride, another one of our favourites. If you’re not familiar with this ride: you step inside a cart with 3D-glasses on with the mission of taking a picture of Spiderman, but of course this means you get in the middle of his fights with some of his enemies. It’s a fun stimulator ride which I really recommend.

collage17_zpswiaj9f3v

Some pictures of the entire day (though there might be pictures from the previous day too).   Look I became a dog for a bit and I practiced for Quidditch. You can also see the infamous fish from my title. After a little show from Spongebob, his friends and some random fish you could take pictures with them (I wanted a picture with Octo but the line was long and it was hot) so I took a picture with that fish. After the photo was taken he either headbutted me or tried to kiss me on the head. I’m not sure which one I’d prefer.

But let’s take a step back in time! When we got off the Spiderman ride and my mom convinced me I didn’t need a very cute Spiderman plush (it’s a good thing really, as we hadn’t been to Disney yet and oh my god guys I don’t think it would have fit in my suitcase or my moms for that matter haha) we bought some fruit and made our way to Hogwarts. We still needed to fly a Hippogriff after all!

collage16_zps9g9doele

Of course selfies needed to be taken and butterbeer had to be drunk

After a few quick selfies (the Butterbeer came after the ride) we immediately made our way to the Hippogriff before it got too busy and got in line.

hippogriff collage_zpsfdaz6r00

I wanted to take a selfie without my mom, but was photobombed by not one, but TWO people (the other person got cut off the photo in the collage). At least no one photobombed my selfie with Buckbeak (I swear I was more enthusiastic than my face looks haha). Also quick on-ride selfies. The first one is on our way up haha. I know my mom looks a bit scared but it’s really not that high! It’s a fun kiddie rollercoaster. Though if you sit in the front you don’t have a net, so you might want to hold on to your bag (which I did the entire ride).

After the ride I got a Butterbeer and did some shopping before we set off to Hogsmeade station. Thankfully the train did ride today, so we got in line which wasn’t that long as it was the beginning of the day. This time my mom made some photos during the train ride (well she made quite a lot of photos but a lot of them are blurry so I won’t share those) and I filmed the train arriving.

traincollage_zpsuznm0ivi

Like I said in my previous post, the film on the way from Hogwarts to Diagon Alley and the other way around are different, so make sure to take the train both ways! For more info on the train, visit my previous post.

Once we were back at Diagon Alley we made our way to Gringotts right away, as we really wanted to go again haha. The line was longer this time, but that meant I noticed more details (and like I said in my previous posts it was this day that we saw the Golden Trio and Griphook). This time we were all taken from the line one by one to get your picture taken as a nice memorial (I especially like the map and border of the photo. I don’t even really like the photo itself haha).

IMG_4029_zpsqw5rczjg

Again, if you want to know more about this ride, visit my previous post.

By now we were really hungry, so we decided to find a restaurant (fish and chips was the only thing I liked on the menu of the Leaky Cauldron and I wanted something else that day) so we left Diagon Alley and started our search for a restaurant. First we had to stop at the Men in Black store though (I’m not a fan of the ride. Two years ago I shot at all the aliens but I barely got any points. So either I didn’t understand it or I just suck haha) because PUGS.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

You may or may not know that I’m a bit obsessed with pugs (which is ironic really as I’ve been afraid of dogs most my life. Still am, just not of all dogs and definitely not of pugs! But I’m allergic haha). So naturally I had to get this pillow and shirt. I also got a pin and button, but at different shops.

After shopping we continued our search for a place to eat, and in the end we ended up at the Monster Cafe.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Inside they had all these old movie posters from monster films and they were airing Dracula (except on one tv they aired this old animated movie about a mouse. I can’t remember the name sadly! But I thought it was funny and odd that they were airing it at a monster cafe haha), which added to the atmosphere. The food was normal human food, not monster food. No blood pints and limbs or anything.

After our lunch it was time for Revenge of the Mummy again, as it’s really close to the Monster Cafe and like I said in my previous post we love that ride! When we got off we caught the Blues Brothers performing so we watched them for a bit and then went to get ice cream. I was very delighted to find out they sold Ben and Jerry’s.

icecreamcollage_zpsvosg8ahb

IT WAS SO GOOD. But I’m biased because I love Ben and Jerry’s.

After some shopping we picked up our purchases at the package pick-up spot and walked back to Islands of Adventure, as my mom had made an appointment with a shop owner to buy a skirt she wanted but didn’t have enough money to buy it the previous day and we needed to pick up our purchases from Islands of Adventure as well.

It started raining again this time, but now we were prepared! We traded our sneakers for our flip-flops and put on our raincoats and made our way out of the park into the nearest Starbucks as we still had some time left before the shuttle from the hotel came to pick us up.

And that was the end of our Universal adventures! I was very sad that we wouldn’t be returning to the Wizarding World, but it also meant that in two days we’d go to Disney! We originally planned to go the next day, but we needed to rest for a day haha. I’ll skip this rest day as it’s not very exciting, except that we pretty much had a private pool for the entire day (on most days actually!). There were hardly any people at the pool, which was awesome.

How do you guys feel about pugs? AREN’T THEY ADORABLE. And Ben and Jerry’s am I right? If you’ve been to the Wizarding World, did you have as much fun as I did? Let me know in the comments!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

17 thoughts on “Orlando Day 3: A Fish Headbutts Me

  1. PPUUUUUUUUUGS. They are so adorable yet so ugly at the same time which just makes them even more cuter. Actually I’d never thought much about pugs before I actually met one, and he is literally one of the cutest things I’ve EVER SEEN. ‘Cept it’s pretty much impossible to pat him as he’s constantly running crazily around, haha. Sounds like you’ve had a WONDERFUL time!! I would love to go there one day.

    • Right?! I’d love to have one, but we don’t have the money and tbh I’m not sure how I feel about walking a dog three times a day no matter the hour/weather 😂
      I did! :D You should definitely go if you get the chance!

  2. Omg HARRY POTTER. GOSH. Now I want to go. We went to Disney World almost two years ago and I miss it! But a chance to dive into the Hogwarts world had to be so much fun and I’m totally jealous. One though. One day.

Send an owl

