The Monthly Hufflepuff: July

CAN YOU BELIEVE IT’S AUGUST ALREADY. This isn’t funny. I only have a month left before I’m off to study journalism (less: first schoolday is the 31st). Which is exciting and terrifying at the same time. There’s still a lot I need to do before I’m ready for school and I haven’t even completed my summer goals yet!

July was a pretty slow month, but in a good way. I’ve had a lot of time to relax, read, write and blog. I’ve also gotten back into Animal Crossing: New Leaf after a year (I’m siriusly shocked that none of my villagers moved out).

whatiread

I’m happy that I was able to read 10 books this month, even though that’s not a lot compared to other people haha. Almost half of these are rereads, and I loved reading them again.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephenie Perkins (reread) ★★★★★
Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephenie Perkins (reread) ★★★★★
Paper Towns by John Green ★★★★
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan ★★★★★
The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore ★★★★
The Death Cure by James Dashner ★★★★
The One by Kiera Cass ★★★★★
De Aardmagiër (The…Eartmagician? The Eartmage?) by Anne West (reread) ★★★★
Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley ★★★★★ (actually 4.5)

Reviews for Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Magonia will be up soon (I’ve already written them and they’re crappy, because I waited too long oops). I’m also planning on writing a post about rereading childhood favourites inspired by De Aardmagiër. So look forward to that!

2015goals

  • I thought up a blogging schedule, which I may or may not follow this month, as I need to finish my Orlando posts first. This means one more blogging goal accomplished!
  • I read The Power of Six which means I’ve read (2/5) books from The Lorien Legacies. While I liked it I’m not sure if I’ll actually finish this series this year if at all.
  • I read The One which means once I’ve finished The Heir I can scratch another series from my Finish These Series Challenge!
  • I’ve reread four books from my Reread Challenge: Fangirl, Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door and De Aardmagiër. Which only leaves the rest of De Macht van het Zwaard (The Power of the Sword) series!
  • I’ve read 37 out of 50 books for my Goodreads Challenge. Only 13 books left!
  • I’m almost done redecorating my room, which is one of my summer goals. I don’t have any floating bookshelves yet, but I’m going to order those once I actually have books to put on them, so that’s an plan for the future!
  • I’ve blogged almost everyday this month so my ‘blog a lot’ summer goal is coming along well!
  • Another summer goal is to blog about my trip to Orlando. I’ve got two posts left (not including the post(s) about what I’ve bought), so almost there!
  • I’ve celebrated my birthday with my friends

Looking back I did pretty well when it comes to my goals this month!

what I posted-2

My survey was the most popular post this month and I want to thank all of you again for being so sweet! There will definitely be more writing posts this month and there will be at least one Discussing Hufflepuff each month. I’ll also hold a Q&A soon and of course I’ll start my Amsterdam blogging series! I still don’t have a name though, so if you have any suggestions, let me know! I’m also going to start to do a weekly wrap up, starting from next week (it’d be a bit silly to do one tomorrow).

My Orlando posts were also quite popular. If you’ve missed them and are interested:

I also participated in Music Monday: Girl Power and Nostalgia and of course I wrote two posts for The Feministas. Our first theme of the month was female protagonists for which I wrote a post on Celaena Sardothien and the second theme was a free theme, for which I wrote a post about whether Snow White and Cinderella are good role models or not.

The Book Awards are still going on of course, with Best Stand Alone and Best Book Series. I promise more posts this month, but I do really need your help, so please take a look at this post to see which nominees I haven’t read. You can do a guest post or just tell me in the comments why a nominee should win!

I’ve also caught up a bit on tags this month, though I’ve still got a long way to go (damn I sound like Shang in I’ll Make A Man Out Of You haha).

personal

Like I said before in this post, I celebrated my birthday with my friends. I had planned a picknick and kept an anxious eye on my weather app, but the weather kept changing, which was really annoying. In the end it still rained and we only got to sit outside for less than a half hour. We quickly grabbed everything and went inside where we ate the rest, did karaoke and play this quiz game with a bomb (not an actual bomb of course. A tulip comes out. Can it get any more Dutch? Haha) which was a lot of fun. One friend gave me a Waterstones voucher which I’ll definitely spend this month and my other friend gave me Looking For Alaska, which I already had so she took it back with her haha. I thought it was  pretty cool that she knew my reading tastes since she’s not much of a reader herself (okay so I did mention that I had read Paper Towns but still). All in all it was a fun day!

This month was relaxing and stressful at the same time, as I would finally know for sure if I was accepted at journalism. I had to take a test in March and I got number 19, which sounded really promising, but I’m always afraid to start cheering before I know for sure, so I was still anxious to get my email two weeks ago! I was so relieved when I saw that email (if I had been rejected I would’ve gotten regular mail, so I spent the morning basically checking my email and the door all the time haha). So I’m officially a journalism student now! I got my books yesterday which are all very interesting and I’m very tempted to read them already, especially this one book about magazines (history of, making of, etc.).

Throughout the month I also went out with my mom to the market, the bookstore, shopping for school supplies etc. and of course I visited my grandfather. We also went to visit my aunt where I played with my nephew (who took me on an adventure inside ‘the forest’ which was basically just a few trees behind my aunt’s house haha. But it was very dangerous, because there were bears and dinosaurs!) and caught up with my aunt. The next day we went to the Amsterdamse Bos which is a park with a big lake where I met up with one of my friends and we spent the day swimming.

nextmonth

So this month is my last month of freedom. I have no idea how busy I’ll be and thus I have no idea how much I’ll be able to blog. I hope that I’ll get back in my old routine of scheduling posts during the weekend just like I did at my old school, but we’ll see what happens! I’m going to try to finish my Goodreads Challenge this month, but obviously I’m not going to push myself. I’ll definitely finish my reread of De Macht van het Zwaard series and for the Book Club of the Opinionated Hufflepuffs we’ll be reading Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares. Aside from reading I’m going to try to write as much as possible, finish my Orlando blogging series and just blog in general. As promised: more writing posts, Discussing Hufflepuff, the first Amsterdam post and more Book Awards.

My cousin was busy with work last month so hopefully we’ll go and see Inside Out this month. I also hope to see my friends again this month, even if it’s just once. Most of all I’ll be enjoying my freedom!

signature

17 thoughts on “The Monthly Hufflepuff: July

  1. Can I just say that I love Animal Crossing so much! 😍
    And your month seems great! I’m excited for your month of August, good luck with everything! xoxo

    • Yes you can! <3 It's such a fun game ^-^ I hadn't played it in so long because of senior year and then I got scared that one of my favourite villages had moved away XD
      It was a great month :D Thank you!

  2. I can totally relate to this- I go off to college on August 29th, so the fact that yesterday was August 1st is SUPER SCARY AND EXCITING. And oh my goodness, I used to love Animal Crossing! I haven’t played it in years because by DS broke, but I’d love to start up again! :)

    • RIGHT WE’RE ABOUT TO OFFICIALLY ENTER ADULT WORLD.
      My first DS broke as well- I dropped it a lot 😅 Cons of being a clumsy person *sigh* I remember being horrified haha. You should definitely play Animal Crossing again :D New Leaf has so many new, fun features!

Send an owl

