Review: Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

willgrayson

Genre: Young adult, contemporary
Goodreads rating: 3.91
My rating: ★★★★★

summary

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and lives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chicago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical (Goodreads).

review

Like with Magonia I will be doing a list review, as again my memory is a bit fuzzy! From now on I’ll write reviews almost immediately after I finish again. It worked a lot better.

Whatiliked

  • How it focused more on friendship than on romance
  • The character development of the Will Graysons
  • David Levithan’s Will Grayson
  • Tiny Cooper
  • The ending (no spoilers but it left a smile on my face and tears in my eyes)
  • The friendship turned romance of John Green’s Will Grayson
  • I know I’ve already mentioned friendship, but special shout out for John Green’s Will Grayson and Tiny Cooper’s friendship
  • David Levithan’s writing style (lower caps, texts, chats) and how well written his Will Grayson was
  • It focused on heavy topics, yet it was still a funny and light read at the same time

And a lot more spoilery stuff! Also like I said my memory is fuzzy woops. I think Green and Levithan did a great job at combining their two stories and how they were separate stories yet intertwined. I think they portrayed their teenagers well and addressed important issues. All in all you should read this book! If you want. I won’t force you.

Sorry for my not so helpful review, I promise next time I’ll write a review right away.

If you’ve read Will Grayson Will Grayson, let me know what you thought!

– The Writing Hufflepuff

33 thoughts on “Review: Will Grayson Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

  1. When I read this first I thought it was just one will grayson and ten at the end I realised it was two and thats why I was really confused. I re read it and enjoyed it so much!

  2. Love this book! David Levithan also recently wrote a companion book called Hold Me Closer, which is the musical that Tiny writes in Will Grayson, Will Grayson. It’s great!

  3. I loved this book! I just bought Hold Me Closer yesterday, and I’m so excited to read that as well. I think their writing styles blended so well together

  4. I find writing reviews recently after I’ve finished the book is the best way to go about it. This sounds like a lovely book which as been on my TBR for too long now.. xoxo

Send an owl

