Mid Year Book Freak-Out Tag

Last month Audrey from Forwards and Bookwords tagged me to do the Mid Year Book Freak-Out Tag, and since August is almost over, I decided it was time to do this, since it’s already long past the mid year!

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015:

I’ve read some pretty good books so far, but I’m going to go with The Last Ever After by Soman Chainani. I loved it so much, it got me in a huge book hangover, everything was resolved and just done right… IT WAS THE PERFECT ENDING. Review is coming soon! Probably next week.

If you haven’t read The School for Good and Evil series yet, I highly recommend it

2. Best sequel you’ve read in 2015:

Either Crown of Midnight or Scarlet. They made me fall in love with their series and craving for more.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to: 

Simon VS The Homo Sapiens sounds really good and everyone is raving about it, so I need to read it!

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year:

Queen of Shadows, Winter, The Sword of Summer, The Copper Gauntlet… Wait, you asked for one?

5. Biggest disappointment: 

I could go with Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares, since I gave it two stars, but I’m not sure if I’d call it a disappointment as I expected a three-star read. So I’m going to go with A Court of Thorns and Roses.  I expected to enjoy it a lot more, and honestly, I kind of didn’t. Read my review here.

6. Biggest surprise: 

I Am Princess X. If you haven’t read that book yet, GO READ IT NOW. It’s funny and intense and there’s friendship and mystery and a comic about a kick-ass princess and so much more. It’s awesome. Read about my fangirling here.

7. Favorite new author: 

Cherie Priest, author of I Am Princess X. Because did I mention I loved it?

8. Newest Fictional Crush: 

Jason from Magonia. Welcome to my fictional boy harem.

9. Newest Favorite Character: 

Cress from well, Cress haha. She’s such a cutie and her character development is life. I won’t tell you to much about her, in case you haven’t read the book yet. If not, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR.

10. Book that made you cry: 

Well I reread Harry Potter this year (from Goblet of Fire on, I reread the first three books in December), so that was a tearfest. I cried during Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire and of course The Assassin’s Blade (let’s not talk about that one though. I’m still not okay), and of course I couldn’t stop sobbing during All The Bright Places! I also shed tears during I Am Princess X, Magonia (quite some tears actually. HER FAMILY. JASON.) and The Last Ever After (more ‘THIS IS BEAUTIFUL’, ‘THIS CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT’ and ‘I’M SO PROUD OF MY BABY’ kind of tears though). So yeah, I couldn’t really choose one book because a lot of books make me cry haha.

11. Book that made you happy: 

The Last Ever After, because of spoilery reasons, The Isle of the Lost (I couldn’t NOT mention Descendants guys. Still obsessed) and Paper Towns.

12. Favorite book to movie adaptation you saw this year: 

I saw Paper Towns on Thursday and loved it! I’ll talk more about it in my weekly wrap up tomorrow.

13. Favorite post that you’ve done this year: 

There are a few posts I really like and am proud of, on this blog and on The Feministas.

On the Feministas I’m most proud on my post about whether or not Snow White and Cinderella are good role models.

On this blog I liked my Nine Reasons Why You Should Watch Dream High (if you haven’t watched it yet, go do that now), my posts about The Wizarding world, part 1 and 2, The Struggles of Being a Teen for the Teens Tell Their Story Project (because getting that all out felt really good, and talking about it with all of you, knowing that I’m not alone in feeling like that, was a big relief), my Disney Descendants review (because let’s face it, I just love to fangirl. Most of these posts so far were basically me fangirling), I loved sorting my main teens from my WIP in Hogwarts Houses (because analysing them like that made me get to know them better, plus it was fun), Why Writers Can’t Disconnect From The Internet and of course the first part of my day in Magic Kingdom (BECAUSE DISNEY).

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought this year so far:

LOOK AT THIS PRETTY ❤️ (I mean the fairy tales book but the others are pretty too 💕)

A post shared by Michelle 🌈 (@thewritinghufflepuff) on

Fairytales From The Brothers Grimm!

Since this is a one time tag until next year, I won’t be tagging anyone since I don’t know who has and hasn’t done this yet! But if you haven’t done it yet and want to, consider yourself tagged!

signature

19 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak-Out Tag

  1. I struggled with dash and lily too! I didn’t even manage to finish it, it was just, meh. I have the school of good and evil on my dining room table, but it’s a library book so clearly I need to read that one quickly!

  2. Favourite book to film adaptation Paper Towns? I have hope that it’s going to be amazing (not that I ever doubted it wouldn’t be) 😊

Send an owl

