Review: The Last Ever After by Soman Chainani

thelasteverafter

Genre: Middle grade (though I’ve seen it classified as ya a few times as well), fantasy, fairy tales
Series: The School for Good and Evil #3
Goodreads rating: 4.54
My rating: ★★★★★

 

Warning: Spoilers for the first two books

summary

In the epic conclusion to Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling series, The School for Good and Evil, everything old is new again as Sophie and Agatha fight the past as well as the present to find the perfect end to their story.

As A World Without Princes closed, the end was written and former best friends Sophie and Agatha went their separate ways. Agatha was whisked back to Gavaldon with Tedros and Sophie stayed behind with the beautiful young School Master.

But as they settle into their new lives, their story begs to be re-written, and this time, theirs isn’t the only one. With the girls apart, Evil has taken over and the villains of the past have come back to change their tales and turn the world of Good and Evil upside down.

review

Me once I finished it. Also a few times during the book. IT’S SO BEAUTIFUL AND ALL THE FEELS AND THANK YOU SOMAN FOR SUCH A PERFECT CONCLUSION TO THIS WONDERFUL TRILOGY

Two years ago I noticed The School for Good and Evil at the bookstore. The cover drew me in, the blurb told me ‘BUY THIS NOW’. Now, two years later, one of my favourite trilogies has ended.

I have to admit that while I loved A World Without Princes (the second book), it wasn’t as good as The School for Good and Evil. I’m so happy that The Last Ever After was though, maybe even better.

I don’t even know how to describe my feelings towards this book. It was PERFECT. I just…

Except I will be less aggressive while I push the book into your hands and whisper ‘read it read it read it’ into your ear

I especially loved how flawed Tedros was in this book. He really annoyed me at times, but I loved it, because it showed that he’s a three-dimensional character instead of a perfect prince. YAY.

Agatha was just as lovable as in the first two books. No one hurt my baby *looking at you Tedros and Sophie*. I don’t want to give away any spoilers, but her character development in this book is beautiful (her entire character development through out the trilogy is). Her relationship with Sophie is even more complicated in this one than in the previous two. Spoiler: I loved that the entire war was dependent on their friendship, on their love for each other. Not romantic love, no, friendship. YES

What to say about Sophie without giving too much away? If you read the previous two books (which I hope you have otherwise there are quite a few spoilers for you in this review) you know she kissed the Schoolmaster to live, giving Evil the chance to wipe out Good. This also means she has to  embrace her inner Evil, though she still tries to be Good. Her struggle is interesting to read, more so than in the previous two books, as while in the first two books everyone told her she was Evil, in this one she acknowledges herself that she is.

I also loved that while there’s a clear Evil and Good, there are still areas of grey. Not every hero is 100% Good, nor are the villains 100% evil. Spoiler: They help each other and know that one side cannot exist without the other. It’s not so much a war between Good and Evil as a war against the Schoolmaster himself.

Then there are the minor characters. HORT HORT HORT. I love Hort (as you may be able to tell haha). I already loved him from the beginning and my baby has grown so much since then. He’s matured a lot and stands up for himself (GO HORT). Also the Coven. I absolutely adore them.

We are also introduced to some famous fairy tale characters, except they’re not exactly how you remember them… I especially loved Cinderella and the twist that was put on her story. It’s quite simple, but not something I had thought of!

Okay, so let’s make a list of all the things I liked, so that I can organise my thoughts a bit:

  • The main three characters all had their moments of brilliance and annoying the shit out of me, thus showing they were realistic, flawed human beings. Also, they made me cry. But Agatha and Sophie always make me cry
  • THE PLOT TWISTS LIKE HOLY SHIT.

This gif is kind of hypnotising me while I write the rest of this list…

  • The twists on certain fairy tales (besides Cinderella there’s another one that I don’t really see as a fairy tale, but I won’t tell you which one as it can be a bit of a spoiler)
  • The character development, mostly of the three main characters, but also Hort
  • Finding out more about the Woods
  • THE FINAL EPIC WAR LIKE YES
  • ALL THE FEELS
  • Agatha and Tedros’ relationship was realistic and beautiful and cute and-

  • Of course the writing style. I loved the writing style
  • The ending. IT WAS PERFECT.

And oh so much more that 1) I can’t put into words and 2) I won’t tell you because SPOILERS. If you’re reading this and haven’t read the book yet, go read it now. If you’re reading this and haven’t read the entire trilogy yet, GO DO IT NOW. And sorry for the spoilers, but I did warn you so I guess you don’t mind?

HAVE YOU READ THIS BEAUTIFUL CONCLUSION YET. IF YOU HAVEN’T YET GO DO SO NOW. IT’S BRILLIANT AND BEAUTIFUL AND HEARTWARMING AND THERE WILL BE TEARS AND LAUGHS AND SQUEALS 100% RECOMMEND.

signature

15 thoughts on “Review: The Last Ever After by Soman Chainani

  1. I need to get my hands on these books, they sound adorable and come so highly recommended by everyone I know. I didn’t read this post in its entirety though because I am allergic to spoilers, but I hope to read this sometimes within the month!

    • Yeah there are some spoilers in this review if you haven’t read the first two books, and it’s much more fun to go into them barely knowing anything at all! :) They are adorable, but also quite dark actually! They’re brilliant and I definitely recommend them :)

  2. MY FRIEND IS ALWAYS TELLING ME ABOUT THIS BOOK and also, the covers, oh my gosh. (Deep staring into each other’s eyes, like yes. XD) I’m now craving this book so much, ack!

  3. I’ve read the trilogy and yes it was amazing . The book cover caught my eyes too. To tell you the truth , I don’t read novels or any book series but this one caught my attention xD I’m a lover of all things cute and I find the book cover really cute.

    SPOILERS AHEAD . DO NOT READ IF U DID NOT FINISH DA TRILOGY . I WARNED YA …

    So , anyway .. I was disappointed about the ending … It did not feel right .-.-. This is just an opinion … I want to go to that school and re-write the 3rd book myself .=.=. when Sophie cried at the end I also cried! ;( And also Agatha .. She’s .=.=. . ~~~~…~~~ I thought the book was just for middle-age children but no , the book was deep and might I mention the characters are TOO young to be KISSING? and defining what LOVE is? NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG READERS (ADVICE: Teach them the bible 1st b4 reading such books).=.=. Merlin kept on saying that T and A’s children will look INTERESTING . OMG! They’re just teenagers .. Not knowing how to really handle things themselves and yet this old magician talked about the outcome . Omygoodness … Looks are just cloak to what really lies inside .-.-. we shouldn’t be deceived by appearances .

    Sori for ranting my feelings out here.. xD I think those who finished the book can relate and are the best listeners.

    • I actually think that people who have read other books like this by the age of 10 are able to read it. I read it and I was fine. If you are 8 then, yeah, THAT’S TOO YOUNG. I remember my friend telling me about the first book and she was younger than me, and I thought the cover looked kind of childish. But one day I went to the book store and went “What the heck, I’ll just read it, even if I’m too old for it.” I pick up the book. . . OH MY GOSH!!!!!! BEST BOOK EVER!!!! That will never change! And I have to say, I love how the first sentence in each book makes you think “What?!” Or feel an emotion that makes you want to read more. Amazing writing, amazing books. If you haven’t read it, READ IT!!!!

  4. So this is prolly hella late and you most likely know already but just in case you didn’t:
    THERE’S GONNA BE A BOOK FOUR I’M SO EXCITED
    Like I’m also mad cos I loved how book 3 ended and everything but I’m also excited to see more of my babies :)
    And he keeps saying that ” book 4 starts a new arc in the series” on goodreads but still.
    more. content!!

    I dunno. Figured I should put it out there for the world to see, and all that.
    Quests for Glory, School for Good and Evil book 4, coming July 2017!!!!!

    • WHAT NO I DIDN’T KNOW THIS I’VE BEEN LIVING IN THE HELL THAT IS UNI AND HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS HAPPENING OUTSIDE OF IT (you know, besides big world news lol) OMG THANK YOU FOR LETTING ME KNOW I WAS HAVING A SHITTY DAY AND THIS SAVED IT.
      Totally get what you mean haha, I absolutely loved the ending; it’s one of my all time favourite series endings it’s so good. BUT YES WE’LL SEE MORE OF OUR BABIES.
      Hmm interesting, I wonder what it will be about! I CAN’T WAIT.
      SERIOUSLY THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR LETTING ME KNOW BLESS YOU

Send an owl

